Doggone Heartbroke

For over a year, we’ve had no dog since our Shane passed. 9 days ago, we put an end to that miserable period by adopting a beautiful brindle Mastiff. Maya, short for Amaiyah, is a sweet, lovable, playful pup, a funny, silly big goof.

Unfortunately, those last two words are the problem.

Maya isn’t housebroken. No problem, except she isn’t learning. She has no experience with cats, and wants to play with them as if they were dogs. Imagine a lion playing with a rabbit – from the rabbit’s point of view. She’s had no leash training, and has one speed – fast-forward. The wife has bruises and I have a strained leg from her pulling and slamming into us on walks.

Yeah, most of those are piddly things. But there’s one other issue – she’s bigger than our Mastiff Sam was, and she’s only 7 months old. We, on the other hand, are both over 60 and have some mobility issues. The wear and tear of so much dog is too much for me to demand of my wife. Me, I’d gladly accept some bruises and aches, but Tamy has to work to support us, and I can’t ask that of her.

So, Maya is back with the lady we got her from. It’ll be calmer and simpler around here, I keep telling myself. But it’s no use. We may not have gotten Maya housebroken, but I sure am. Here, in a dogless house. Broken.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Doggone Heartbroke

  1. Archon's Den says:

    :( My condolences.

  2. GP says:

    I know how hard it is to lose a member of the family, but I believe you made the right choice after over a year, John.

  3. tom says:

    Help is on the way or is it I I got your bac

Leave a comment