Yes! YES!! AAAAAHHHHH!!!!!!

Or, as John Belushi in the “Blues Brothers” would say, “Yes! Yes! Jesus H. Tap-Dancin’ Christ! I have seen the light!”

What a bloody hard week it’s been. Filtering out sports updates out of my newsfeeds, changing channels to avoid any information, literally bending over backwards to NOT curse my Cubbies. But now, finally, for the first time in 108 years, the Cubs have won the World Series! CUBS WIN! CUBS WIN! Holy Cow! (That one’s for you, Harry, God luv ya!)

Now, I do have to do a bit of confession. I’ve muttered a number of times about my “Star Trek” episodes getting delayed or cancelled by Cubs games. And yes, I’ve sat in Wrigley Field and thought the beautiful park was wasted on baseball. But when you’re born in Chicago, they automatically hook you into either the Northside club (Cubs) or the Southside losers … er .. club (White Sox). I’ve been too Wrigley several times, and I do have a very, very warm spot for the old park. If you gotta play baseball, Wrigley is perfection – the sun-drenched bleachers, warm beer, cold hot dogs, and hundreds of wretches you’d never even look at out on the street, all packed into one place with a collective conscience. I think the Bleacher Bums inspired the Borg – if you sit out there, you WILL be assimilated, and you WILL be rooting for the Cubs, never mind how much you might dislike the leisurely pace of the game. If you’ve never been to such a tight-knit community, picture the roar of the crowd at the bloodiest Coliseum gladiatorial games of Ancient Rome. You come home hoarse, deaf, and literally vibrating. It’s like a rock concert, only far more insane and far less predictable.

So now I can finally breathe again. And while I am FAR more of a Bears fan (American football), I’ve always had that built-in love for my hometown perennial underdogs. So here’s to the boys of summer, that ivy-walled beauty, and everybody associated with the now-World-Series-champion Chicago Cubs!But beware of odd happenings in the next few days, ’cause Satan will be freezing his ASS off! Yeah! (cue the music) “Go Cubs, Go! Go Cubs, Go! Hey Chicago, whaddaya say? The Cubs are gonna win today!”

This entry was posted in Current Events, Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yes! YES!! AAAAAHHHHH!!!!!!

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    It’s a party here. πŸ™‚

    • Can you tell me where “here” is, like neighborhoods or street names? Though I imagine an answer of “the entire freakin’ CITY – and all collar counties!” would be true. Well, maybe not those Southside loser areas, ya know… πŸ˜‰

      • Archon's Den says:

        If she provides actual co-ordinates, could you please forward them to the map nut, please? The closest she’s ever mentioned to me, is that she worked down the street from Merchandise Mart on the river, but doesn’t live in Chicago, proper.

      • Well, there’s a little problem there – the Merchandise Mart is on the Chicago River just east of where the river goes from North/South to East/West. I used to work about two blocks south, at 225 W. Randolph, SW corner of Randolph and Washington (if I remember my streets correctly). So I was technically “right by the Mart”, as is about a dozen other major buildings, plus several smaller ones. The cool building (if you don’t like Soviet-style masses of concrete) is at 333 Wacker, a green glass monolith at the turn of the river. The cool part of it is, during certain times of the year, walking down Wacker in the morning, you can have your shadow pointing South!

        As to not living in Chicago proper, well, the “downtown” is either east of the river or I-90/I-94. The border of the city itself goes out some distance west, but the :general area” of the city covers most, if not all, of Cook County. I was born, technically, in Des Plaines, but my birth certificate says I was born in Chicago. So we’re gonna have to get something a LOT more specific from her before I can start shipping giving you GPS target co-ordinates. (I know you’re still buds with Rants and just want to borrow one of his Predator drones for a bit, so don’t try to claim you’re in it “just as a map nut”. πŸ˜€ )

        And just so you know, Chicago isn’t ALWAYS colder than frozen-over Hell in winter. I’ve seen temperatures vary by over 60 degrees in Januaries. (And I mean in years when the January temps never climbed above 40 degrees F. Lemme tell ya, 20 below along the lakefront with a stiff wind whipping spray at you will make you see GOD!!! :And yes, been there, done that, got the frostbite to prove it! πŸ˜€ )

      • 1jaded1 says:

        Lol…at the time I wrote that, I was in a Northwest Suburb. I no longer work in the city, so I missed the parade. The party extended across multiple counties. I just want to point out that I’m a true blue Tigers fan but I am happy for a well earned victory. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks, and I just realised I had a HUGE brainfart. Washington and Randolph are parallel – Franklin is the North/South street. I’ll also have to do some Googling – there used to be a semi-dive bar inn a basement one block north of the 225 Randolph Building – Ameritech (formerly Illinois Bell) HQ.called The Telephone Company. They named it specifically so the guys could get potted after work, but not lie when they called their wives and told them they “were staying late at the Phone Company”. A bit of local colour from the 1980s for all of ya reading! πŸ˜€

        BTW, Jaded, you say “a NW suburb”? I lived in Niles for a time and went to school in nearby Skokie, We were right by Golf-Mil shopping centre. It’s been over 40 years since I lived there, and about 20 or so since I’ve visited. Anywhere near ya? (I lived not too far east of Woodfield Shopping Centre, too, right underneath one of O’Hare’s flightpaths. It may sound crazy, but stuck out here in the country, I really do miss planes in my sky – even if you had to pause every 90 seconds during a conversation, or jack the TV volume to max. πŸ˜€ )

      • 1jaded1 says:

        Skokie/Glenview/Niles is about 25 minutes East from me. This is about to get random…I love going to Gallery Park. It is in North Glenview. When I worked in the city, I contemplated moving there. Right now, I’m centrally located to everywhere with respect to the city and NW.

        My uncle worked for Ameteritech in the 80s…in Michigan, though…We were Michigan Bell before the merger.

        Being from Michigan, I’ve also seen Hell frozen over. πŸ™‚

  2. aFrankAngle says:

    I was pulling for the Cubs … and glad I watched the last few innings. Congratulations, John … and I hope all is well.

    • Sorry I didn’t write back sooner, I’ve been absorbing this alternate reality where the Cubs can actually win! As to how things are going, well, my blue bird of happiness landed on the power lines and got fried, the road rising to meet my feet tripped me and re-injured my gimpy hip, and the wind at my back gave me a chill and a cold I’ve been enjoying for about …. what day is today? …. two friggin’ months. But hey, other than that, it’s all sunshine and roses – roses full of wasps that stung my left arm and left me one-handed for several days. In other words, SNAFU. πŸ˜€ (Actually, one bright spot – we got a minivan for free that’s in pretty fair nick, and unloaded a friend’s Toyota for some profit for ourselves, so there’s actually a chance that the parts-car Z-24 we bought 12 years ago to fix up my Z may be demoted from only-running-car status back to parts car! YAY!)

      • aFrankAngle says:

        In other words, all is normal. πŸ˜‰

      • You don’t remember SNAFU? You know, “Situation Normal, All .. er … Fouled Up”? I think there’s another, similar one, like “Things Are Fouled Up As Usual”, but I can’t remember the proper acronym. (A double shame on me, being a son of a former Bell System employee – they were obsessive about acronyms – and a military enthusiast. πŸ˜€ )

  3. We were pulling for the Cubs. I’ve always had a soft spot for them and Wrigley is my favorite park. As happy as I am for Chicago, I did kind of expect the apocalypse to start this week. I’ve been checking my weather app multiple times a day but still no sign of hell freezing over.

    • I’ve seen Hell frozen over, it’s no big deal, really. (That’s Hell Michigan. Supposedly named by German residents, the German word for “bright”. Yeah, right.) I’m just terrified for the second (or third, if you’re a Cleveland Cavs fan, which I am NOT) sign coming this Tuesday. The biggest problem there is, I’m not sure which outcome will be the sign, i.e. the worse outcome – Trump winning, or Trump losing!

Leave a Reply

