Where I Get It From.

As you well know, I have a rather twisted love affair with really bad humour. And the WORST humour possible is puns. Ever wonder how I got to be so dang punny? Well, it goes back over 32 years, as I found proof of earlier today.

Back in the 1980s, one f my favourite shows (and still is) was the A-Team. Action, adventure, lotsa gunplay (with accuracy of gunfire only outdone by a WW2 re-enactment), and great interplay between characters. In the episode I was watching, “Face Man” (Dirk Benedict, formerly Starbuck in the REAL Battlestar Galactica), is questioning a con man who has set up a Wild West show, and asks about an Indian (sorry, Native American) chief persona. The con man admits the Chief isn’t even an Indian, and that he picked up the Chef as a hitchhiker outside Cleveland. To which Face replies, ” I can’t believe I fell for a Cleveland Indian.”

(Insert rimshots or groans here.)

Now I know this went over my head at the time, because I knew scant little about baseball. But as you can see, the seeds were planted early, and not just compliments of the Three Stooges. So as the Nevadan said during a California earthquake, “Why am I suffering? It ain’t my fault.”

We now return you to your regularly scheduled reality, already in progress.😀

This entry was posted in Humor, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where I Get It From.

  1. Archon's Den says:

    So, you’re saying that the nut didn’t fall too far from the tree??! 😉

    • Speaking of nuts, I gotta ask you for some Canadian info. I’ll admit that I don’t know much about the Canadian West, and that we have some wacky town names down here, but what the heck is a “Nanaimo”? Or a “Chemainus”? What happened, the guy who named towns only had the most common Scrabble tiles and improvised? 😉

      And you may find this amazing, but my father has a very poor sense of humour. He doesn’t tell jokes often (though he can – just not too well), and my puns would more commonly irritate him than tickle him. My mother was no great raconteur, either. Guess I’m a mutant on that basis, eh? 😀 (Oh, and just to finish this off on the right note, both my father and I DO share one thing – a row of rabbits, marching backwards before they were told to. You know, a prematurely receding hare-line. 😯 )

      • Archon's Den says:

        Both Nanaimo and Chemainus are small cities on Vancouver Island, in the Canadian province of British Columbia, out on our Left Coast. They’re hard to see from here. They were obscured by pot smoke long before Oregon made it legal – hence B.C. Gold.
        That’s not how they got named however. Those came from the local Indian tribe, whose own name, rendered into English also looks like the Scrabble factory exploded.
        Nanaimo is also famous (On the Canadian scale of being famous) for Nanaimo Bars, not a bunch of booze cans, but a no-bake dessert, which probably came from Maryland.
        They’re all available to research on Wikipedia. Ooh, international acclaim. 😉 😯

      • Like I said, we have some doozies down here, too. Tonawanda in NY State is one of my more favourite tongue twisters. Illinois actually has a town named after Cantigny (pronounced Can-TEE-nee) in France, but the residents insist it is pronounced like it’s spelled. We have Chili right down the road from us, pronounced Chai-Lye. And Berlin, but it’s BER-lin here, not ber-LIN like in Germany. (The locals get really PISSED if you mispronounce it wrong, not that their German heritage has anything to do with it. 😀 ) We have Warsaw, too – one of these days, I’m gonna get out my German uniform and get pictures at both town signs. Right before the cops throw me in jail for the rest of my life…….

Leave a Reply

