Of Queens and Princes

Did you ever have one of those days, when life seems to reach out to hug you, but when you go in for the clinch, it knees you right in the family jewels?

Today in spades, kiddies. In bloody spades.

A wonderful morning spent enjoying the festivities celebrating Queen Elizabeth’s 90th birthday. All the pomp, ceremony, and warm moments a raging Anglophile could want. I never fail to be amazed at this wonderful lady, someone who dedicated herself to public service a decade before I was born, and is still going strong. I not only enjoy seeing her, but watching Prince Phillip in the background. You want an example of a cum laude graduate of being a husband? Watch him. He dotes on the Queen, he guards her (even though he’s 5 years her senior and recently had bouts of ill health), and overall is justΒ  quiet pillar of strength – one with an absolutely devastating wry sense of humour. (No wonder I’m such a fan! πŸ˜€ ) And if you were paying REALLY close attention to the footage of the band playing “Happy Birthday” for Her Majesty, you’ll notice the band is from my second-favourite adoptive military unit, the Coldstream Guards. Nulli secundis, boys!

A terrible afternoon, whacked with the announcement of the death of Prince. I was never a huge fan, but enjoyed some of his earlier stuff from the 1980s. I am in awe, though, of how many careers he touched or launched. He worked with one of my all-time favourites, Sheena Easton. He created the celebrity of Sheila E. and Vanity (okay, maybe not superstars, but both talented ladies in an era when women were just supposed to sing and look pretty, not write music of – Heaven Forbid! – be a rock/funk drummer). He wrote tons of songs for others, played the vast majority of the instruments on his albums, and always performed with power and verve. Love him, like him, or hate him, he was a monster talent, and one gone way too soon.

Oh, and as for me, I’ve gone through two laptops and three hard drives in the past 4 months, not to mention three rounds of killer migraine periods each about a week long, and a couple bouts of flu (one of which I’m still trying to get rid of.) So, with any luck, maybe you won’t have to wait another 4 months to hear from me!

This entry was posted in Current Events, Obituary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Of Queens and Princes

  1. Elyse says:

    Love the Queen, but not a big fan of either Prince!

    Sorry you’ve been having a rough time lately, John. But it does my heart good to see you in my inbox!

    All the best!

    • Thanks! As the old phrase goes, it’s good to be seen! (Believe me, I was about 3 days away from firing up my old Apple 2 with the 1200 baud modem. And yes, that’s the correct number – the Apple’s best modem speed is about 80 times slower than “old slow dialup”. And to think it was cutting edge when I was in high school. Damn, I’m old! 😦 )

  2. tom says:

    Hopefully your strain of the flu is milder than Prince’s

    • You’re preaching to the choir here. One of our neighbours across the street, he was suffering for a few days with “the flu”. That was 4 weeks ago, 2 weeks spent in the ICU with double pneumonia, one of those weeks completely unconscious! He just came home a few days ago, and is under doctor’s orders to do NO physical activity for another month. And he’s only a half-dozen years older than I am! Whatever is going around, it can dang well KILL ya!

  3. Archon's Den says:

    I know a Mennonite guy who’s off to visit an Amish relative in Ohio. Do you need a care package of electronic parts? I could use some cheap Canadian meds to use as packing material. Glad to hear you and your computer are feeling better. πŸ˜€

    • Thanks for the offer, but I’ve got a working computer. Sort of. Dang thing’s screen is smaller than a business envelope, and typing on it is making me crazy! (Okay, crazy-ER.) Though I could use some of that cough syrup with codeine you guys get. It’s kinda like my Lortabs for my headaches – it doesn’t necessarily cure you of the problem, but you sure don’t worry about it anymore! πŸ˜‰
      Now, if you have a source for tubes to a Wireless No. 19 Airborne unit …… πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

