Grace Has Fallen From Me.

I’ll write a more complete entry tomorrow,. but it is my heart-wrenching duty to inform you of the passing of Grace Lee Whitney, Yeoman Janice Rand in the original Star Trek, and my personal dream girl. She has died at age 83, and the world has lost one of the most pure, kind, and caring souls I have ever encountered in all my travels. A stunning beauty regardless of age, a singer with a voice like a heavenly choir, and  delightfully funny lady, I was truly blessed to call her “friend” for many years, and nary a day has passed I haven’t thought of her. I’d recommend you go rent a copy of “Some Like It Hot” with Jack Lemmon and Marilyn Monroe – though Grace has a only a small part, she can outshine even the stellar Ms. Monroe.

I’ll sign off for tonight – I’m so choked up, it’s hard to write. Rest assured, though, that if you look up into the night sky, it will look quite a bit brighter tonight, for a dazzling soul has joined the firmament, and even the stars themselves will seem a bit pale as Grace Lee Whitney, a truly amazing Grace, joins her fellow Star Trek actors in Eternity.

Good Night, Gracie. We’ll always have Ensenada.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grace Has Fallen From Me.

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    I’ll admit that I do not know much about Star Trek, and even I can’t help but notice how many fans are mourning this woman’s passing. She must have truly loved her craft and that show to make such a positive impression on so many people. You honor her memory with your post.

  2. Elyse says:

    I looked her up to see what else she’s appeared in, and it was like revisiting my childhood. She was in everything! Sad loss for all of us — and for you especially. She seemed like a really cool lady.

  3. BrainRants says:

    It’s a shame we’re beginning to lose all the Trek stars in rapid succession. I saw this news and was saddened as well. I still haven’t adjusted to a world without Spock.
    LLAP

  4. Archon's Den says:

    Like many others, I too greatly miss Grace/Janice. 😦 The only bright spot is that it has brought you out of hibernation. 😀

  5. benzeknees says:

    This just has been an awful year for you – 2 original actors from Star Trek gone from this world. I was always fascinated with her hairdo!

Leave a Reply

