Veterans’ Day 2014

On the porch of a house in Fresno,
a small town in Ohio,
Three flags in the wind blow for veterans I know,
And those I don’t know,
But admire and appreciate so.

World War 1, 100 years ago. World War 2, 75 years ago. The 2nd Gulf War yet to go.
Will we ever learn?
I hope so …. but I don’t know.

Thanks to all who serve, and have served, all around this world.

This entry was posted in Military, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Veterans’ Day 2014

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    I’m sure you celebrated the day with many thoughts … so thanks for sharing this one. …. and to answer your question – Nope, humans (as a whole) will never learn.

  2. Elyse says:

    I’m with Frank. Humans are humans — they’ll never learn. (Good to see you, John)

  3. tom says:

    Here I thought the meaning was scoring free meals at Claim Jumper, Dennys, Olive Garden, Rubys etc. My neighbor says the secret to maximization is willingness to sit at the counter. Meanwhile I am waiting for a call back from Starbucks Chairman Howard Schultz offering me one of his 10,000 Barista jobs for Vets. I cynic might say this is free publicity for Starbucks. “Latte up, Thank you for your Service”

  4. Archon's Den says:

    Thank you for remembering. 🙂

  5. Archon's Den says:

    Have you found a new hobby, and left the blogosphere(again), or are you still experiencing ‘technical difficulties?’ Inquiring minds want to know. The Cinci Angle guy only gets answering machines. ET please phone home. 🙂

  6. padresteve says:

    A belated thank you John!

Leave a Reply

