A Hello, And A Thought

Yeah, I know I said you’d hear more from me. I tried to download the entire backlog of my Email, and gave my laptop a nervous breakdown. (See? Even my computer is nuts! 😀 )

I’ll post a little something on Monday for Decoration Day .. er, Memorial Day. Until then, here’s a little something (rather dark, but so is the subject) – inspired by an episode in the series “World War II in HD” on the History Channel, a series I highly recommend. So here is: “Nie Vergessen – Never Forget”.

The words “Arbeit Macht Frei”
Stand black against grey sky.
And if you listen close
Above the murmuring ghosts,
You can hear
The angels shed a tear,
And God ask “Why?”

This entry was posted in Military History, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Hello, And A Thought

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Yes, why? Why to so many questions concerning war. I could make a comment post (compost) but will spare you. Good to see you in the inbox.

    • Aw, c’mon, don’t be so nice. Let me have it with both barrels! 😉
      Though seriously, my biggest “Why” is why do those who don’t, and won’t, serve tell those who do where to go suffer and even die? While I never had live rounds shot at me – at least, not on the re-enacting field – I did freeze my butt off in a wet trench, sweated half to death in a grassy field, and came within two inches of losing a leg to a tank. Let’s see any of those fat Washington congress folk do THAT before they go starting wars all over the place!
      (Ahem.) Sorry. The soapbox’s going back in the closet.

      • 1jaded1 says:

        See..that is the thing…the omnipower asks why….when it has all the power…strikes one, two and three, and that’s where I offend. Then you have those in absolute executive power who declare people fight for those in power…for their causes…more strikes. And the soldiers pay with death, lost and malfunctioning extremeties and such. Let’s share the soapbox. I’m all for defense. I do believe that those in power should simulate a loved one leaving them to war….before they make.a.final decision

      • Because it’s a democracy and those who serve do so voluntarily and they accept that they will go where Congress or the President will order them to go.
        A democracy in a country of 300 million won’t work if we want all members of Congress to have personal experience in all the matters that they decide upon.

  2. benzeknees says:

    Glad to see you back!

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    The whys of war … or is it the why of wars … whatever …. Late to the thought, then again, I’m still getting over the crushing deletion from the list.

  4. Elyse says:

    Hey John — I’m behind in my reading but was happy to see you in my inbox.

    The why’s of war — I think folks have been asking that for as long as we walked upright. Mostly women did the asking, though. You know what they say, if women ruled the world …

  5. Why does everybody refer to the “why of war” when you mention “Arbeit macht frei”, which has nothing to do with war? One of the things which sets the Holocaust apart from other atrocities or genocides is that it began in peacetime, in the absence of any military conflict, civil war or otherwise and that it was perpetrated (in the beginning) by Germans against Germans. The first concentration camp was opened in 1933, a full 6 years before World War II.

Leave a Reply

