He’s baaa-aaack!

Contrary to popular opinion, I have not been killed, kidnapped, swallowed by a black hole, or taken back to my homeworld. Yet. (I’m kinda pissed – they’re already two weeks late. Gonna have to chew out the chief engineer – he may not be as good as Scotty, but he’s a dang-sight thinner! 😉 ) I am gradually working my way back into things (yeah, yeah, I know you’ve heard that all before), but it’ll take a little (actually, a LOT) of work, so please be patient.

My unexpected silence was due to … well, the easiest way to put it is, a realisation that I’m stuck. I was brought up with the idea of “fixing” your situation. Need more money? Get a better job or a promotion. Don’t like your house? Fix it up, paint it up, expand it. (The curse of having an extraordinarily-handy father.) Throughout my life, I’ve followed that pattern. I had an interruption when my headaches arrived with a passion in 1999, until I ended up in a friends’ guest bedroom in 2002, laid too low by my headaches to do anything except watch DVD movies. When we were forced to move out in 2004, the old pattern returned – first we fixed up the trailer we rented, then moved onto our current house. I lost over 50 pounds, my wife nearly the same and got better jobs to boot. All seemed to be going well.

But this past Christmas (Christmas is a hard time for me these days, separated from my family and old hometown friends), following the enjoyable Company For Christmas, I got to reflecting on things. And I realised – I’ve stopped moving. Our chances of selling this house even for breakeven is unlikely. I can’t get a real job due to my health and the meds I take, and my wife doesn’t have any college degrees, so she’s pretty stuck as well. The problems with our cars are beyond my limited talents to fix, and my days are split between boring maintenance on the house and the same pattern of exploring topics online with movies playing in the background. And that was a pattern I had seen before, and it scared the crap outta me.

So what happened? Nothing, really, except (and here’s the sappy sentimental part) I started missing my online friends. Y’all might just be electron-induced spectres, but you’re MY electron-induced spectres, dang it! 😀

So I’m gonna work my way back into your hearts – and then, via your spines, into your brains, where I will annoy the PISS outta ya! In other words, …… I’m BAAAA-AACK! 😛

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to He’s baaa-aaack!

  1. El Guapo says:

    Fantastic! Great to see you! Glad you could make it!
    (Who are you again?) 😉

    Good to hear you’re weathering the storms and keeping on.

    • Oh crud. I was expecting YOU guys to keep track of who I am. Now I gotta go dig up my personnel file. (Sigh.) 😉

      Maybe not weathering, so much, as just too dang stubborn to let ’em destroy me. I come from good stock – my father is 87, and I expect him to beat 100 simply because he’s been out-stubborning the Grim Reaper. 😀

  2. Elyse says:

    Dear John,
    Welcome back; I’ve missed you too. So sorry that life has thrown you so very many curveballs. Wish I could pitch you one that you could hit outta here (Frank will be amused by my baseball metaphors). But sadly, all I can offer is my friendship. And my agreement that Christmas sucks.

    Xx

    • aFrankAngle says:

      Good try … just letting you know I noticed.

    • Your friendship is more than I deserve. And it’s Christmas of recent that bites the big one – the memories from childhood are SO much better. (And WGN-TV not doing their annual rerun of the documentary of the shows I grew up with REALLY wound my clock this year! Especially since the doc covers 3 absolutely antique cartoons, all in B&W, including a VERY pre-Hanna Barbera version of Frosty the Snowman. Google “Hardrock, Coco, and Joe” for my absolute favourite! 😀 )

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    Way to jump back on the saddle. Hang in there … do don’t swamp yourself!

  4. 1jaded1 says:

    Welcome back from this electron spectre. You might want to stay away from my brains. Fair warning.

  5. Oh, man, is it good to see you here! I haven’t been reading blogs much lately, but I’m glad this morning’s seeing me reading through them . . . and that one of “them” is yours. 🙂

  6. tom says:

    Yeah, Yeah. My house could use a little painting and could you take a look at the alternator on my vintage Honda. Good to hear from you.

  7. benzeknees says:

    So happy to see you back here John! I knew if I teased you with a few tidbits of info. it would pique your interest! You have been well & truly missed!

  8. fasab says:

    So y’all missed us? Awe shucks! Nice to have you back on board. If you need to know where you’ve you’ve been try the enessay.

  9. fasab says:

    Baaaah, I did an extra ‘you’ve’. Sorry 😦

  10. Alice Keys says:

    Welcome back to the blogsphere… John? I recognize the pic of you cuddling the cow. But did your header change? Sorry. I’m so easy to confuse.

  11. When being stuck with a situation, sometimes the fixing gets you stuck more and deeper. Not knowing faintly enough about your specific situation and far from having any solution, sometimes a radical change helps. Leaving some things behind that can’t be fixed.

    Alternatively, one can look towards Sudan or Syria and just feel comparatively happy with one’s lot. 🙂

  12. Archon's Den says:

    Welcome back, guy! When it calms down, you and I have things to talk about. 😀

  13. julesagray says:

    I was wondering where you had wandered off to…

Leave a Reply

