I Want My Money Back.

You know, 2013 was (as my favourite Chinese blessing/curse goes) a very “interesting” year. I put in a special order for 2014 to be miserably dull, boring, and completely mundane. Kinda like yours truly (well, except for the mundane part – sci-fi fans refer to non-fans as “mundanes”, so I’ll never be one of THOSE! πŸ˜‰ ). But dang it, somebody misplaced my order – probably got lost in the shipping rushes at UPS and Fed Ex. (Did you hear that Fed Ex and United Parcel are putting together a joint panel to look into those holiday shipping problems? They’re gonna call it “Fed Ups”. (Insert rimshot here.) πŸ˜€ )

I won’t bore you with details, but in the last 10 days, we’ve seen a record high temperature, a record-cold high AND low temperature, a precipitation record (in rain – not counting the three snowfalls I had to shovel), plus two loads of wood to be hauled, and capped off by the house next door (the “good people” house) rupturing a pipe. Yep – an indoor waterfall, right through the middle of the living room, from the 2nd floor bathroom raining all the way into the basement. (Sigh.) And since the house is empty and the landlord is out of town, we had to do the emergency clean-up. Well, we didn’t HAVE to – but the owner only rents to good people, so it’s an investment in my sanity. Of course, it couldn’t be the “bad people” house! (Though, if the owner decided NOT to move back in, well, the local arson rate might have a SLIGHT increase this spring…. πŸ˜‰ )

So hang in there (to y’all AND to me), I am seeing posts go by, just haven’t had time to answer yet. I hope to be back amongst you later in the week, and will also have a post here – a follow-up post about the Ranger Josh Hargis, who was thought to be unconscious while being given a Purple Heart, who saluted despite numerous tubes in his arm (caught in a photo literally seen around the world, and captured in my post “You GOTTA See This”). So stay tuned – same Bat time, same Bat channel, same Bats in the belfry!

This entry was posted in Humor, Military and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Want My Money Back.

  1. Archon's Den says:

    Two new “regional” words in one week, YAY! Ted @ SightsNBytes gave me “longers”, thin poles used in Newfoundland to make fences. I’m a long-time Sci-Fi fan, but have never heard “mundane” used that way. It fits. Here’s to quiet times! πŸ˜‰

    • I think “mundane” is more of a con-goer’s term, rather than sci-fi fans et al. I can’t really think of any “regional” terms I know, though for some reason, the British term for soda/cola/pop, “fizzy drinks”, always gives me a giggle! πŸ˜€ (Now, if somebody can explain why the heck my dad has to put the letter “R” into any variation of the word “wash”, I’d be deeply appreciative! Who “warshes” their car, anyway?!?)

      • Archon's Den says:

        The woman who married my mother’s younger brother did the “warsh”, and then she “wrenched it out.” I’ve never met another. I don’t know where it comes from. I can’t even say it’s a regional thing. πŸ˜• Is Dad still “around”, and where?

      • Last I knew, yes, he’s still living up in the Chicago ‘burbs. We had a falling out when I moved down here, were trying a reconciliation before my mom’s death, then things fell apart again. (Sigh.)
        Why did you think I was so willing to adopt you (or vice versa)? πŸ˜‰

  2. benzeknees says:

    You must have heard my vibes from yesterday! I was missing you yesterday & trying to find your email address to send you a “are you OK” message. I’ve been posting a lot lately so you have a lot to catch up on! Take care of yourself & welcome back!

    • Glad somebody was missing me! It wasn’t anything big, just little distractions that kept dropping into place one after the other – capped off by “the flood”. And just when I got that out of the way, I need to get my follow-up on Josh Hargis posted – so catch-up might have to wait a day or two. But I’ll get there! πŸ˜€

  3. tom says:

    AWW (what ever that means). At least it kept you put of trouble.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    Hope the bats are knocking away your cranial cobwebs. Meanwhile, a gift to embed in your post. http://tinyurl.com/2qr8dv

  5. El Guapo says:

    Hope the year gets its crap together soon. For all of us.

  6. shimoniac says:

    You might be interested to know that some of the sword and sorcery crowd call the non-fantasy fans “Muggles”. Yes, after J. K. Rowling’s nomenclature. You’re welcome. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

