Um … Yeah, It’s One Of THOSE Posts Again.

Well, this time, I’m just gonna give ya the highlights. Last Thursday night, my wife got really sick. Nothing life-threatening (technically), just one of those barf-n-squirt stomach bugs. Things got nuts as I took on taking care of the house and her both, throwing a wrench into my recovery plans amongst my Inbox-turned-weed-garden. Then it hit me late Saturday.

Did you know, that if you can adjust the vectors of your … “vomit stream” and your … um … “ventral liquid discharge” … within less than 60 degrees of each other, you CAN partially overcome gravity? Did you know that, with a simple week of eating absolutely nothing AND power-barfing several times a day, you CAN lose over 8 pounds in a week?

Did you know that this is now, officially, my most disgusting post ever? πŸ˜‰

Fast forward a week (God, I wish I could’ve – oh how I WISH I could’ve), we’re both mending slowly. Once again, I’ll try to climb outta my pit. But to some of your disappointment (and many’s relief), I’m gonna have to skip a lot of missed posts. So there goes my “Number One Commenter” status on many of your blogs. C’est la guerre!

So, hope you had a good weekend (betcha it was WAY better than mine!), and never fear, I will dig up some kind of post for my American readers vis-a-vis US Thanksgiving. And for my Canuck (and other country’s) readers, I’m sure I’ll something to keep you reading, eh? So until then, Happy … Start of Christmas Shopping Insanity! πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Um … Yeah, It’s One Of THOSE Posts Again.

  1. tom says:

    This may get you the TMI Award. But speaking of illnesses, mine are the most important. I have a cold/flu and the Doc prescribed Tamaflu which I believe they are trying to unload after stockpiling it for a bird flu that didn’t materialize. Hopefully it would work for bird flu as it seems to be pretty worthless. But the good news is that I have an excuse not to set up a new computer that I bought.

    Hope you and your wife are feeling better.

    • I am a firm believer in the dual effect of prescriptions. And I rate “making you healthy” a distant second to “I can’t, my doc gave my a prescription”! If you need a really good visual aid to go with it, buy a little travel size of toothpaste, then rub all the fancy pictures and colours off the tube. Then, when somebody says “Hey, a prescription doesn’t stop you from working!”, just yank out your little tube and say “But I have to use his ointment”. Be sure to say that word – ointment. You will INSTANTLY have a clear circle around you about 10′ in diameter! πŸ˜€
      (Um …not like I’ve had experience with this….. πŸ˜‰ )

      • tom says:

        vian Orthodox and Elaine dating a Podiatrist.ou concentrated on the Fungus Cream that Jerry found in his girls medicine chest and totally ignored George’s conversion to LatTrue, I can see that you were a fan of steinfeld Episode 75 in season 5 “The conversion” where y

      • tom says:

        This is my most garbled comment ever. I am holding WordPress and my old PC responsible. But if you are a Steinfeld fan it probably made sense.

      • Yeah, I got the point of that comment. Not so sure if it’s mow much of a Seinfeld fan I am, or just how much time I’ve spent chatting with you. πŸ˜‰

  2. El Guapo says:

    Well, at least you made it through.
    Hoe everyone in your house is okay,

    • Oh, the cats are WONDERFUL. They’ve realised that when my wife is really sick, she runs very high fevers, to they just pile on top of her! (Me, they wrap around my feet while I sleep. Cats are insane!)
      But yeah, we’re doing okay, slowly getting better. The wife’s got a bunch of short days (no, I’m NOT making jokes about her height – or direct lack thereof – she only works 5 hours a day every other one). And me, well, I just kinda sit here…… πŸ˜‰

  3. benzeknees says:

    It was okay for me you were sick because I’m participating in NaNoWriMo & only putting out my Tickle Me Tuesday posts anyway, so there is nothing much to miss there (except a giggle or 2). Just recovering from yet another bout of pneumonia so my word count is only just over 26,000 words (personally I’ll be happy if I can finish with 30,000 words). Keep well John, you are missed – maybe by December when I can finally tackle my weed garden of unread posts we can both be #1 commenters for a little while.

    • Well, my lady, I think I will take you up on that quest! To arms! (And we’re gonna NEED both arms to get through these inboxes! πŸ˜€ )

      • benzeknees says:

        Got the dreaded follow up call after the x-rays today & have to go back to doctor tomorrow – keep your fingers crossed for me that it’s nothing worse than a pleural expulsion again. At least they can be drained off through your back without too much fuss.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    AH heck, John …. I’m glad you’re still kickin’ and your sense of humor remains. Meanwhile, hope you and Tamy are improving!!!! Cheers to the cats!

  5. 1jaded1 says:

    Glad to see your post and hope you all are better. Less than a 60 degree angle between bodily expulsions can make one fly? Geometry plus physics is a fascinating combination. Seriously, I hope you are doing better.

    • Yeah, had a minor relapse the past couple days – just mild nausea and gut pain, no …. um … “waste product forcible evacuations”. And if I never go through that again, it will still be one time too many! πŸ˜€

  6. Keeping the spirit hight is important.
    Hope the both of you are doing much better.

  7. Archon's Den says:

    I am reminded of my Father’s adage that, “There’ll be a couple of days when you’re afraid you’ll die, followed by a couple of days when you’re afraid you won’t.” The old guy who never gets sick, had the same thing for ONE day. I feel SO sorry for you. 24 hours, never more than an arm’s length from a large bowl, or a quick hobble to…. I didn’t throw up like that, even after the Purple Jesus party. I hope you’re back to, what passes for normal. Wifey’s trying to blame it on spicy Tex-Mex food. 😦

    • Oh Lordie, ya GOTTA watch out for that Tex-Mex stuff. Dang food almost killed me down in Texas! (Then again, it was the cause of my 2nd date with my wife-to-be, so it wasn’t ALL bad. πŸ˜‰ ) And I love your father’s adage. I had a bad bout of pancreatitis, caused by a combination of a flu bug and some new meds that darn near killed me, and that summed it up VERY well!

  8. fasab says:

    You may have lost your lunch, but at least you’ve retained your sense of humor. Keep well.

    • Lunch? I was scared I was gonna hoark up my toenails! I’m just glad all my internals are still in the same place. Um … remind me – when you burp, the gas comes out your left ear, right? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

  9. julesagray says:

    ..two exits, no waiting. the worst kind of sickness.

    • I wouldn’t have minded the no waiting, but at times, it was like watching Chicago Union Station during morning rush-hour! Maybe somebody needs to invent a colonic speed camera, to slow traffic? πŸ˜€

  10. I didn’t do anything to special this weekend, and yes, I was WAAAY better off than you! I hope you guys are doing well now and have a happy Thanksgiving. You deserve it!

  11. whiteladyinthehood says:

    John, I hope you and your wife are feeling much better! I wish you a very happy Thanksgiving holiday (maybe you can gain some of those 8 pounds back).

    • We’re both finally getting closer to eating normal foods, No turkey, but I’m sure she’ll whip up something a bit tastier than the toast and applesauce that have frequented my diet lately! πŸ˜€
      And a Happy Thanksgiving to you!

Leave a Reply

