Murphy, Go Home!

Just to let you all know I’m still alive … kinda. In light of the old Chinese blessing/curse “May you live in interesting times”, it has been a hellaciously interesting few weeks!

First I fought with my ISP
To get regular connectivity.
I finally got it from Omnicity.
(And the don’t get the Robocop ref – duh-EE!)

Then came the great Email fight,
Getting back those which hadn’t loaded right.
I tried and tried with all my might,
But I think some vanished into the Net’s night.

Then came a period of hideous pains,
A massive assault by my migraines.
I even thought of blowing out my brains,
But ya gotta have something at which to aim…
(Okay, that one wasn’t so good. So sue me!)

And now that I’ve finished my unplanned plans
For fixing up a bunch of our fans,
I hope to get back to reading blogs,
In between hauling boxes of firewood logs.

So, I hope to see y’all real soon. And don’t forget to drop by tomorrow – a big Veterans’ Day salute to all my military friends around the globe!

This entry was posted in Humor, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Murphy, Go Home!

  1. tom says:

    Old soldiers never die they just live to fight their ISP, the most heartless enemy known to man. Take a bow on Vetersns day.

  2. aFrankAngle says:

    Woo hoo!!! He lives … and just in time for Veteran’s Day!

    • Hey, they can bounce my connections like Jello in an earthquake, they can play hide-and-seek (mostly hide) with lost Emails, they can cause me eye-watering pain (literally), they can seize my bearings (on the FANS, ya prevert! 😉 ), but ain’t NOTHIN’ gonna keep me from saluting my vets! And in all seriousness, I think you’ll like it – it’s not just a simple salute among thousands, it also touches on the rest of us as well. (Hey, a little self-promotion never hurt, right? 😀 )

  3. Nice rhyming! Glad you’re back No-hio!

  4. Looking forward to tomorrow’s post.
    Nice reading from you!

  5. benzeknees says:

    John, it seems if you didn’t have bad luck, you wouldn’t have any luck at all! I hope your head is better, the logs are lighter & your connectivity is smooth. I am participating in NaNoWriMo this month, so I don’t have so much time to be reading blogs as usual, but I have made it my vow to read all my buddies posts as soon as I can & you are definitely a buddy! Have been missing you!

    • Thanks! You know, I used to watch Hee Haw as a kid (oh my GOD!!!), and I remember a group of four who used to sing a song that included that very line (“If it weren’t fer bad luck, I’d have no luck at all!”). I just couldn’t bring myself to admit that I actually used to watch “Hee Haw”, much less trying to explain the concept! (Um … I just publicly admitted to watching “Hee Haw”, didn’t I? Dang, I HATE when that happens! 😀 ) I will do my best to be worthy of your visits!

  6. fasab says:

    Welcome back, again! Good timing though.

Leave a Reply

