The Muse Strikes Again.

Watching an episode of “The Outer Limits” would seem strange fodder for poetic inspiration. Yet even a tale of a blind man given sight, only to see a woman in another dimension, can prod my muse into action. So here goes:

Once blind, now I can see,
The beauty the world shows to all.
Yet to my surprise, through solid wall,
She appears, and cries out to me.

Left here, unseen by everyone,
She drifted in her own Purgatory,
Until a miracle drug allow me to see
This daughter of a neutron sun.

We reveled in each other’s arms,
An answer to each other’s prayers.
We loved, forgetting all our cares,
Thinking we were safe from all harms.

Yet others from the government
Sought her knowledge for evil schemes.
I could not bear her tortured screams.
I destroyed those men’s machines,
Shattering their electronic screens,
And freed her, with my last strength spent.

Now once again I cannot see,
And live my life without my sight.
Yet sometimes, in the dead of night
I feel her fingers on my skin
And know it is possible to win
The greatest love the world can’t see.

If you like it, thank you. If not, blame El Guapo – he made me do it!

This entry was posted in Poetry, Romance, Science Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Muse Strikes Again.

  1. Elyse says:

    Can I like it AND blame Guap?

  2. tom says:

    Reincarnation of Robert Frost

  3. Wow, a queen emoticon? Man, I’m gonna have to DIG on that one. Call it your Halloween present (if I can actually find one)? πŸ˜€

  4. I like this — I’m leaning towards the shut down of the government for your muse on this one.

    • First of all, welcome! I have to disagree with you on this one – my muse is a spirit of love, loss, and dreams. I swear I actually heard her mutter an expletive during a news report last night! πŸ˜€
      Nice to have you aboard.

  5. rarasaur says:

    I love The Outer Limits! πŸ™‚ Beautiful poem, John!

    • Thanks! Check your local cable/satellite service for “Chiller TV”, they’re always running multipe episodes of both “Outer Limits” series, “Tales From The Darkside”, and all the various iterations of “Twilight Zone”.

  6. El Guapo says:

    Come closer John.
    Closer….
    Closer…
    Listen to my voice John….
    Listen….
    Listen….

    EL GUAPO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE GREAT THINGS YOU ACCOMPLISH.
    HE IS A BENEVOLENT OVERLORD.
    YOU WANT TO LEAVE BEER FOR HIM IN THECOOLER OUTSIDE.
    THE GOOD STUFF, NOT SWILL.
    AND A ROAST BEEF SANDWICH.
    WITH MUSTARD.
    ON A FRESH ROLL, NONE OF THAT STOREBOUGHT CRAP.

    When you finish reading this, you will wake up and delete this comment, but remember all of it.
    remembr, we control the vertical.
    We control the horiziontal.

    • El Guapo says:

      Oh, and Elyse is evil.

    • But … but … my TV doesn’t HAVE a vertical OR horizontal adjustment! (Quick funny story – back in Chicago in the late 70s and early 80s, they tried an over-the-air adult TV channel, scrambled and requiring a special box to render it viewable. I had an older TV that I could monkey with, and managed to unscramble it – mostly. The audio portion was also VERY low level, but patching it into my stereo worked wonders! (And yes, I used headphones – I was living with my folks at the time! 😯 )
      Oh, and I left the stuff out for you. It was gone this morning, so I thought you had retrieved it. Then I noticed some of our feral cats staggering around the yard. Oops! πŸ˜‰

  7. Elyse says:

    Apparently, you need the ;!

  8. benzeknees says:

    I’m glad Guaps got you in the mood to write, but I didn’t think anyone could make you do anything you didn’t want to do John!

    • You’re right, he didn’t actually make me write anything. But he DOES make a lovely target for criticism – kinda like a big, walking “negative comments” lightning rod. It’s what makes him special! (I’ll let you decide if I mean “great person” special, or “short bus” special. πŸ˜‰ )

  9. Dave says:

    Nice poem.

    Maybe I could practice poetry writing at Dummies of the Year. Considering my poetry would suck, at least I would post on the right kind of blog. :-/

    • Well …. we COULD always try cross-posting – you write something and put it up here, and I write something and put it up on your site, then we see if anybody can tell the difference! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

