My Karma Did NOT Run Over My Dogma, and Eight Ain’t Enough!

Well, another week of chaos and confusion. For once, though, luck broke my way. I’ve been mowing the empty house next door’s front yard, all 12′ x 15′ of it, just to keep things from looking seedy. Landlord showed up at the start of the week, and after hacking the jungle-like backyard of his property clear, got to talking with my wife. (Side note – our well pump – our only source of water – has been sick for over 6 months, and I’ve been lugging water, like Gunga Din, up from the church to hold it over. Remember this – it will be important shortly.) Anyway, Chuck (Landlord Guy of Good Neighbors’ House) made mention he lost his job. The wife asked him if he’d help us replace our well pump, and he agreed. 48 hours later, he’s on our doorstep, with a BETTER pump than the replacement we were looking at, and replaced it for just the cost of the better (yet, oddly, cheaper) pump, doing all the work (and repairing of the inevitable old plastic pipe breakages)! BIG WIN! πŸ˜€

Other than that, just the annual chaos of Vacation Bible Study at the church, requiring extra work for care and upkeep of the old place. Oh, and the bit about 8 not being enough? We are on the cutting edge of the cat horde increasing to nine. Yep – yet another female has found me! Now if only I’d had this luck when I was in my 20s back in Chicago – and the females being of the same species …….. πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Karma Did NOT Run Over My Dogma, and Eight Ain’t Enough!

  1. Elyse says:

    I like hearing about good things happening!

    Always good to hear from you, John!

  2. Archon's Den says:

    Oh John, with all these adoptions, if we’re ever to meet, my mountain must come to your Mohammed. I’ll bring photos of those left behind. πŸ™‚

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    Glad the pump worked out. Oh no! You’re the cat man! It is funny how they adopt people. My friend had somewhere around 20 cats at her old place. I always ran from my car to her door in hopes I wouldn’t be attacked.

  4. unfetteredbs says:

    Keep the good mo Jo going John!

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    Cheers to your good luck, and loud applause for Landlord Guy’s donation! So another cat gave you the look …. they know you’re easy to breakdown.

  6. tom says:

    This really pumped me up, Sincerely, Arnold Schwarennegar

  7. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Good deal!

  8. benzeknees says:

    Now you’ve made it definite – I can’t come for a visit. With my extreme allergy to cats I wouldn’t get past the front door!

Leave a Reply

