Thank You, Sam.

I’m sitting here tonight, feeling lousy for a multitude of reasons. Obviously my loss, compounded by a cold I picked up trying to get Sam out into the car in the pouring rain. Nothing on the TV could hold my interest, so the house is quiet while I wait for my wife to come home. Sitting here, with my mind whirling, trying to cope, I suddenly did something quite unexpected.

I smiled and chuckled.

For those of you with pets, this will be a bit of “preaching to the choir”. (For those without, this might explain the madness of we who are owned by our animals.) If you’ve ever lost an animal, take a moment and just let the thought of them bubble up freely. Don’t dwell on the loss, just think about them.

You’re smiling, aren’t you?

Oh, we animal people bitch about our pets, we complain about the food bills and the long walks on cold mornings and the disgusting habits of our beasts. And we often speak of the good we’ve done, how we have helped a pet from a rescue shelter or cared for a sick or injured stray. And if we think about it, we wonder at the lunacy of constantly giving our hearts to a creature we KNOW will someday die, tearing us up inside.

But we do it anyway. Because, whether we’ve realised it or not, we inherently know that it is WE who are the winners. We receive the love and companionship, the laughter at their clowning, the warmth on a cold winter’s day, and that look in their eyes that speaks volumes.

Thank you, Sam. Thank you for the laughter, the tears, the frustrations, the aggravations, and the warmth and love you gave us. Thank you for reminding me that while I rescued you from a shelter, you rescued my soul and my spirit.

(I will write a post about Sam in my line of “Why Can’t I Have Normal Pets”, to include his tuned barks, his gallops through the house, and his relationship with our cats. Soon – after Sam has had his due. Thanks to all of you for your condolences – they have helped quite a bit. 🙂 )

This entry was posted in Animal Stories, Obituary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thank You, Sam.

  1. AR Neal says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. We maintain a house full of animals so of course I get it…

    • Sorry I’m just getting back to you, and thank you so much for dropping in to comment. While I wasn’t a cat person until recently, the eight we’ve managed to find (or have found us, more correctly) have helped. There will be a new dog soon, but we’ve got some confusion going on right now, so it might take a bit. But I’ve got both my birthday and Christmas coming up, so I’ll see what guilt trip I can lay on my wife! 😉 😀

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    Looking forward to reading about Sam. Yes, thinking about the antics of a pet does cause a smile. 🙂

  3. dragonfae says:

    You know John, I saw a post on Facebook that really touched me after Cindy tool her leave of us. I can’t find it now, but it was something like this … Every time a dog in my life moves on, they take a little piece of my heart. But they leave a bit of their heart with me too. I can only hope to share life with enough dogs that my heart becomes more dog than human. *hugs*

    • I really like that concept, about leaving a bit of their hearts for us. Sam had obviously been abused before we got him – “just” yelled at, because he’d panic and run even if I yelped at something I’d fallen over. But he never showed us anything but love and trust. Well, and a tiny streak of being a smart-ass. No wonder I loved him! (That WILL be one of the “Stories of Sam”. 🙂 )

  4. Frank says:

    Spot on points about pets and pet ownership. Losing pets is not only difficult, it is one of the tough things in life …. but, the joys they provide shine forever!

    • Very well put, my friend. I like to think the many small joys they give us so often makes up for that one short, sharp pain when they pass. Mostly, it does …. mostly…

  5. whiteladyinthehood says:

    You are just so kind-hearted, John. I’m glad you thought of Sam and the memory brought a smile to your face!

    • Thanks for the compliment. I’m trying to remember the happy times, which usually works. It’s the little reminders – like the empty upstairs landing where Sam loved to lay – that sabotage me.

  6. Elyse says:

    My heart is with you, John. But you’re right to focus on the love, not the loss.

    Hugs to you and your wife.

  7. fasab says:

    Nice post and a fabulous line “the madness of we who are owned by our animals”.
    I was owned by my last best friend for 12 great years, and as owners go he was very good to me, took me for a walk every evening, played in the yard with me and even listened to what I had to say as if I knew what I was talking about.
    I’m still smiling 🙂

  8. Archon's Den says:

    This choir member has a little smile as he agrees with the preacher.

  9. rarasaur says:

    Beautiful and so true. *hugs* Sorry about Sam, my friend.

  10. benzeknees says:

    Oh John (smiles through my tears), I’m so glad you are able to remember Sam in a loving comical way sometimes instead of just being sad. I don’t know how long you had Sam with you, but think about all the days you had together instead of dwelling on the one bad day when he left you.

Leave a Reply

