Well, God Bless, Sam.

I had hoped that my next post would be a triumphant return, following an enforced absence due to a lot of stuff in real life consuming a great amount of time. Sadly, it isn’t.

Our Mastiff, Sam, died about 45 minutes ago. My wife is at the vet as we speak – I’m holding down the (flooding once again) fort. And trying desperately not to turn into a sobbing heap in the middle of the floor, at least until she gets back.

If you’ve seen my Facebook page (under one of my alter egos, Bud Malone), you’ve seen Sam in his cage at the shelter, where we got him. His name came from the shelter owner, a friend of ours, who had Sam out for a walk where he peed on something inappropriate and she proclaimed “Well, damn, Sam”. The name instantly stuck.

I’ll write more in the coming weeks. For now, I’ll just say goodbye for now. You’ll understand if I have no great words or whimsical statements right now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Well, God Bless, Sam.

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Despite what some people say, pets are family.

  2. I’m so, so sorry for your loss my friend.

    • Thanks. The wife just called, said the doc diagnosed it as a sudden heart attack, and that he didn’t suffer long. I guess that’s the best “good” to get out of this very bad situation.

  3. Elyse says:

    RIP, Sam. You were a lucky boy to have found two humans who loved you so.

    For them, I am sending hugs..

  4. dragonfae says:

    I’m so sorry John. I know your pain too well. *hugs*

  5. unfetteredbs says:

    Sigh. So sorry for your loss John

  6. tom says:

    Sad news. There is a good place for him in Doggie heaven

  7. whiteladyinthehood says:

    John, I am so very sorry, too.

  8. Frank says:

    Losing pets is one of life’s difficult moments. But his memory and your love for animals will keep stay with you! …. and I’m fortunate enough to meet Sam!!!

    • Not sure why, but I had to approve this comment – strange!
      Thanks, Frank. He was quite the character. There will be a post of some of his more …. unusual … quirks coming soon. And a Happy 4th of July, my friend!

  9. Oh, John. I am so, so sorry. Sending much love.

    • Thanks. I wasn’t doing too badly, until I just walked past the stairs, and looked up to Sam’s favourite landing – now empty. I hate those little potholes….

  10. gpcox says:

    So sorry, I know words don’t help, but I am.

  11. El Guapo says:

    I’m sorry John.
    But I’m glad you and Sam had each other for a while.

  12. benzeknees says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this John! I know how much it hurts to lose a beloved furry member of your family. Please take care of yourself & remember Sam fondly – he’s probably playing with Bandit in Heaven!

Leave a Reply

