In Memoriam – Drummer Lee Rigby

(Note: “Last Post” is a bugle call used by the British Army in the same manner as our “Taps”.)

For Drummer Lee Rigby

How does a walk home turn into a death march?
How does an ordinary day turn into a nightmare?
How does a young man become the target of pure evil?

You asked for nothing, but the right to serve.
You expected nothing, but simple respect.
You anticipated nothing, but a trip home to see your family.

Now you are gone, and we are bereft.
Lost too soon, too young, too unfulfilled.
And though we are left with many questions,
We do know a few things.

You are loved.
You are missed.
You are now at peace.

Stand easy, son, and let Last Post
Ring out, this time, for you.

This entry was posted in Military, Obituary, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In Memoriam – Drummer Lee Rigby

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    A good tribute on the Memorial Day weekend as gone and missed says a lot.

    • I was writing my Memorial weekend post last night, but I just couldn’t finish that one until I got this out. It would, and should, have been better, but it was hard to write through my feelings. But thank you for the kind words.

  2. Dave says:

    (scholar mel here)

    I heard about this the other day. Because I live in Germany I don’t always understand what I am hearing.

    Why was this man targeted? I’m asking because I don’t know the story and I know you John are full of good info.

    I watched a video on Huff and they said he was the father of a 2 year old. Being a father myself, hearing this breaks my heart.

    • I wish I could give you a good answer, my friend. The best one I can give, based on news reports, is that two “self-radicalised” Muslims (Nigerian decent, British citizens both) decided they needed to slaughter a soldier in retribution for Britain having troops in “their land” – a direct quote from one of the two killers. Since they both live in Britain, “their land” is – keeping my PG-13 rating in place – a completely cock-and-bull phrase. You can Google (or whatever search engine you prefer) for all the little details. I think you know me well enough to know how I feel about two cowards striking an off-duty soldier with a car, then hacking him to death while he lay helpless.
      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll do my best to return the favour!

  3. On the bright side: if British soldiers are now getting killed in the UK, we don’t need to send them to Afghanistan for exactly that purpose anymore.

    • I’d rather not have to have them killed anywhere. It’d be nice for ALL countries to not need their fighting personnel anymore – guess we haven’t evolved enough. Then again, “Star Trek” would suggest we haven’t evolved enough in 300 years…. (sigh).

  4. fasab says:

    Good post John albeit about a terrible and barbaric incident. Of course the politicians after paying lip service condemnation are falling over themselves not to offend co-religionists of the criminals who did this. All that happens in England is that the taxpayers will get to pay for these animals to be kept in jail instead of paying for them being kept on benefits on the outside. Hardly seems fair???

    • Oh, it ain’t just the UK. Did you hear that we, the US texpayer, via the US Army payroll, have paid the Fort Hood shooter $278,000? (I think that’s the number.) Virtually the epitome of the “open-and-shut” case, and he’s still drawing payroll!
      Now, if you’ll pardon me, I feel the sudden need to find a very substantial doorframe, to which I need apply forehead repeatedly….

Leave a Reply

