My Momma Told Me To ….

I’ve mentioned to a lot of you that I have an internal chorus of voices, and that they’re the ones who steer a lot of my posts. But not this time. One single, clarion voice inspired this post.

I count myself lucky to have loved three great women in my life – my own mother, my wife’s mother, and my wife. I’ve lost the first two to disease, and very nearly lost the third some years ago. But I’ve also gained a wonderful circle of friends, many of them terrific moms.

So to all the wonderful ladies who follow me, whether you comment on or just “like” my posts, Happy Mother’s Day. May you receive all the love you so selflessly give every day.

To all the guys out there, give your mom a hug, or at least a phone call. Cherish her while you still have her, because she’ll be gone before you know it.

If, like me, you’ve lost your mother, then use this day to celebrate her memory rather than mourn her loss. Remember the love, not the pain.

And to all, I will once again say “Thanks for your support”. ‘Cause my momma told me to….

This entry was posted in Mother's Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Momma Told Me To ….

  1. So sorry you’ve lost your mom, John. Thanks for the lovely sentiments.

    • You are more than welcome, my dear. This April she would’ve turned 80, and that was a VERY hard time for me. But time moves on, as they say. Hope you have a great day!

  2. Elyse says:

    Clearly, your Mom was one smart woman. And I agree, John. Celebrate her memory — because it stays inside you.

    • She was such a classic 50’s TV mom, doing the whole “home-maker” thing. And I use that term as the greatest possible compliment – a mom is one of the, if not THE, toughest jobs in the world. Heck, I’d consider landmine clearing both easier and safer! πŸ˜€
      I’ve managed to forget the exact date of both her death, and when I found out 3 weeks later. But her birthday still really hurts – that’s why I was MIA in April. But I’ll get there. And thanks for the compliments to she and I both!

  3. Tori's mom says:

    Sweet.

  4. benzeknees says:

    Thanks for the nice Mother’s Day wishes John! I’m glad you had a nice mother & a nice mother-in-law, some don’t get so lucky!

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    A simple, but meaningful tribute to your mom. Even those who knows how many times you’ve caused her to shake her head, πŸ˜‰ I’m sure she’s proud of this. My mom passed away in 1987 at an age that is younger than me today.

    • Thanks, Frank. I try to do her proud – I may not always succeed, but I’m hoping for a net positive after averaging! πŸ˜‰
      I’m not sure how well I’m gonna do, age-wise. I’ve got a lot of the “personality attributes” of my mom, as well as a few physical ones. On the other hand, I’m told I’m a ringer for my father, who is currently out-stubborning death, so I may have a good run. (Personally, I’ve got my money on Dad. If anybody can out-stubborn Death, it’s him! πŸ˜€ )

  6. Beautiful, John! πŸ™‚

  7. Teeny Bikini says:

    Thank you, John. I am so happy you have that kind of love in your life. And I am very sorry for your losses as well. You are amazing. I am wishing you the best as always.

Leave a Reply

