Star Light – Or, It’s WhiteLady’s Fault

Ever since WhiteLadyInTheHood deemed my previous bit of prose a “sci-fi love poem”, that thought’s been rattling around in my skull. Unfortunately for me, the one voice among my mental chorus to latch onto it was one of the loudest – Commander Bud Malone. Bud is a character I created decades ago for my own little space opera. He’s had a hard life – orphaned by war, denied the vengeance he sought against those who orphaned him, stuck in a never-ending war. And worst of all – he lost his wife, the one and only love he would ever know, in a tragic shuttle crash, which she had boarded to surprise him at the start of his leave. The tragedy is, he had started his leave early to surprise HER with his intention to retire and dedicate all his time to her. Bud’s been yelling at me to do something for him in the ‘sci-fi love’ venue. So here is what I affectionately call “All WhiteLady’s Fault”. You can call it Star Light.

Star light, star bright.
I’m thinking of you tonight,
As I’ve missed you in my heart
Every day we’ve been apart.

Star light, star bright
I’m remembering that fatal flight.
When fickle fate struck your ship low,
And turned surprise to endless woe.

Star light, star bright.
I lost my only love that night.
I had planned the rest of my life
Around only you, beloved wife.

But fate took you away from me,
And left me to war’s eternity.
So now I patrol the ebony,
And fight the implacable enemy,
Until there’s a pause in the fight
And I look out into that night
To find you, my eternal light
Among the myriad
Star light, star bright.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Romance, Science Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Star Light – Or, It’s WhiteLady’s Fault

  1. unfetteredbs says:

    my favorite part:
    When fickle fate struck your ship low,
    And turned surprise to endless woe.

    well done Mr. Poet

    • You know, I have a really intriguing question for you. Why is it, with all the other ladies (jeez, down, Lothario-boy!) that leave comments, do I find myself ALWAYS blushing, ducking my head, grinding my foot into the dirt (ok, dirty carpet) and saying “Aw gee whiz” to you replies? (And I NEVER say “gee whiz” – except for your compliments!) 😉

      • unfetteredbs says:

        And now I say GOSH and blush…

        I have no idea 🙂 but I’m happy you are writing again. And even more pleased you’re mixing it up with poetry

      • As long as I’ve got great commenters like you, writing will ALWAYS be my pleasure!

  2. El Guapo says:

    Alas, something else poor whitelady has to answer for…

    Good one, John. And I’m glad she nudged you to write it.

    • Well …. just between you and me, I ain’t gonna hold it against her. I figure I got the better end of the deal – after all, I get to enjoy her stuff, but she has to put up with mine! 😀
      Thanks much, sir!

  3. tom says:

    Where you Robert Frost in a prior incarnation?

    • Ye gods, not even CLOSE! I think, though, I may have to put some effort into finding that old notebook of stuff from back in my 20s. I had some pretty epic pieces, in both topic and length, in that book – and a LOT of crap which I promise not to inflict on y’all! 😀

  4. Archon's Den says:

    Another splendid little (?) creation. Thanx for stopping by to peruse my faint offerings. Unlike your sabbatical, I’ve been off my own radar. I did say radar, not rocker, right?? 😀

    • Meh, radar, rocker, whadevah. I’ve only been prolific here ’cause things have been falling together. If I can get my big Saturday post together (and it’s being a real pain in the butt!), you might need hear from me for a while! (Compared to my history posts, these little diddies ARE short! 😉 )

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    Up next, Garrison Keillor or James Earl Jones reading your poems on NPR.

    • Doubtful. HIGHLY doubtful. And it wouldn’t mean anything to me, ’cause I don’t think I have a single radio that receives NPR! (Heck, I think in areas around here, NPR isn’t even LEGAL. NRA Radio, on the other hand, is mandatory. 😉 )

  6. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Star Light is beautiful, John! (tragic, but beautiful)….and you created this around one of your own characters! Wow, now I’m super impressed. Are you going to share any of your writings/stories about Commander Bud Malone?

    • Wow – I’ve never really thought about writing about the character. He’s just been the “eyes” through which my little universe plays out, sort of like Dr. Watson, where the stories happen around and to him, but aren’t really about him. I’ll have to think about that for a while. Maybe an autobiographical tale? Or something from his point of view about watching his parents die as a child, setting him on his path of (ultimately unfulfilled) revenge? Interesting concepts….
      (Dang it all, woman, you’re gonna make a writer out of me yet! 😀 )

  7. Elyse says:

    You know, I never thought of sci-fi as a setting for love. You changed that, John, with your beautiful poem.

    • Oh, that’s something I love about the whole sci-fi genre, it’s really just a backdrop that you can paint anything onto. The original “Star Trek” series brought that home to me – comments about war and politics and civil rights were all common topics. “Next Generation” carried it even further, with tales of love found and love lost, and my particular favourite, an episode called “The Wounded”, about a starship captain who can’t stop fighting a war against the race that murdered his family, even though the Federation has signed a truce ending the war. Sci-fi isn’t an end, it’s a means to an end, and that’s why I love it as an art form.
      And that was probably the wordiest post you’re ever seen that was simply meant to say “Thank you very much!”. 😀

  8. benzeknees says:

    Ask Hotspur, I almost never like poems. This one was OK because it wasn’t too long & it wasn’t too abstract. I prefer your other writing, so’s you knows.

Leave a Reply

