Where In The World Is John The Loonie?

I’ll start with a simple answer – I’ve been taking a “vacation”, doing a lot of online reading and searching for information, in hopes of overcoming a problem I’ve been having. I’ll explain in a little more detail later on. Please note that this is going to be a multiple-points post, with something quite literally for everyone, so bear with me, here goes.

First off, a big “Thank You” to the number of folk who have subscribed to my blog since my last post. I am truly grateful (and quite stunned) to find people continue to find something of value here. Thanks, and welcome aboard!

Second, for those of you who aren’t aware of my health issues, my 13-year struggle with my ongoing “cluster headaches” continues. (Think of them as migraines, without the sensitivity to light and sound.) For a few years recently, I’ve had an additional minor-to-moderate symptom of not being able to find the right word when talking or typing replies. (My longer-term reader will know I try to write my responses as if I were just chatting, to make the replies “friendlier”.) I’ll come back to this in a moment.

Third, those whose blogs I’ve terrorised for the past few years will notice I’ve been very-much absent for the past few weeks. I’ve been going through some “personal stuff”, the details of which I won’t prattle on about. Suffice to say, with my mother’s 80th birthday having recently passed, “bummed out” has been the mood du jour. (I’ve managed to shove the date of her death, and the date three weeks later when I finally found out about it, out of the front of my memory. Her birthday is harder, as I always fretted for weeks about the “perfect” present, despite her treating even the crappiest gift as a treasure.)

Now, throw in that my “can’t find the right word” problem has gotten dramatically worse. Not only do I get frustrated and angry just trying to talk, but it’s been creeping into my writing as well. Simple quick witticisms have become a struggle. Even my little “teaser” about my “Lady Be Good” post took far longer to write than any previous attempt. The net result has been to turn my previously enjoyable romps around the Net into a struggle.

So what’s the point? Well, for the new folk, it means I’ll be writing more here, as therapy for my word-searching inabilities. The posts might sound a bit more formal, but I will attempt to avoid dropping $64 words like “erudite” and stick with “learned” or “educated”. I ain’t no Harvard lit grad, and they’s no way I’m a startin’ now! Don’t worry, they’ll be lighter tales of my various car-based adventures, insane pet stories (about insane pets), and whatever other oddities that might catch my fancy.

Now for the bad news. You’re gonna see a LOT less of me out on the comment rolls. I’ll try to drop by periodically, or whenever something triggers a pithy comeback, but otherwise, the silence will continue for a while. Believe me, I’d rather be out among you, making your lives miserable, but not at the risk of becoming crazed trying to find the proper words. (I get pissed when that happens, and more than once, my wife has ended up the unintentional target of my anger – and that will NOT do!)

So that’s the story. I will miss the (in some cases) daily interplay, but hopefully this will get my internal lexicon back up and running. Until then, enjoy the silence and lack of annoyance. But remember – I’m still out here. And you never know when I might strike next…… 😉 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Where In The World Is John The Loonie?

  1. tom says:

    Hey John, hoping that the R & Rbrings you back as good as new. For those of us wil Asperger’s Syndrome (or so it eems), we don’t recognize inappropriate words. Take care, Tom

    • Thanks, buddy. I’ve dealt with it for a number of years, but it seems to have become really frequent (and frequently annoying) recently. I’m hoping a little creative writing will shake things lose!

  2. Elyse says:

    Hugs to you John. I wish I could find the answers for you my friend. But it’s good to see you in this space.

    XX

    • Thank you, my beloved liege. Unfortunately, I don’t think even a royal decree could fix things! But I’ll keep slogging my way through – and your support will definitely help. Thanks!

  3. fasab says:

    A bit of R&R is always good. But remember that you can only do what you can when you can and if you ain’t enjoying it then what’s the point. Oh, and I wouldn’t worry about words like erudite either, someone has to keep the standards up to make up for the people who do posts about farting! Get well and stay well amigo. 🙂

  4. Margarita says:

    By the time I came into my sweet husband’s life, the man had survived four strokes and was so self-conscious about his inability to speak with the same clarity he had before as to render him tongue-tied. Happily, I’ve only known him post-strokes otherwise I might have been intimidated by his brilliance. As it is, I’m only dazzled by it and can manage to hold my own. We’ve been together almost eight years now and the fluency of his speech has improved dramatically, mostly because I regularly piss him off sufficiently to make him forget what he perceives as his infirmities. Just so you know, I expect to get some reading done on your blog! xoxoM

    • Thank you for that, Margarita. It gave me both a boost and a much-needed chuckle, because I can see your annoying him in stuff my wife does to me! I hope he continues to improve, and though I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again – I am TRULY amazed at the number of us lucky schlubs who have found truly phenomenal women to love and put up with us. My best to you both! 🙂

  5. benzeknees says:

    I have been missing your pithy comments on my blog! I was worried about you after your last post too where you hinted there were some not so pleasant things going on in your life. Just think of blogging as “brain exercise” & it will help you find the words you want!

    • That’s what I’m hoping for – to exercise things enough to get the old brain box back up to snuff (or as close as it can be these days). And try not to worry too much – the personal stuff is baggage I’ll have for the rest of my life, it just falls out of the overhead bins on my head every once in a while. Thanks for the good wishes, and I’ll do my best to stop by and pith you off a little. 😉

  6. we enjoy pith and stalking in any and all forms, whether a lot or a little. Feel better!

    • I’m doing better with the personal stuff, and now my PC boots AND downloads the inbox in less than a couple hours! Yeah! So stay tuned – I’ll be back, to coin a phrase. 😀

  7. As long as you show up every now and then on your blog to let us know you are there, we’ll be fine. Otherwise I’ll nag you with emails asking where/how you are.

    • I can save you the where – since I can’t drive and there’s no public transport around here, I’m pretty much stuck. :p
      Seriously, I promise to be in more regular attendance, definitely here and hopefully also in your backyards. So be warned! 😀

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    As I’ve said before, do what you have to do for yourself. Meanwhile, here’s something for you.

    • Thanks, Frank, a little classical music always brightens my day. Speaking of classics, I have caught the latest Stooges movie. I still thin Michael Chiklis is the consummate Curly, but the new film does okay – not great, but good, a solid B. Then again, it’s hard to re-create a legend! 🙂

  9. unfetteredbs says:

    Good to hear from you John You’ve been missed

  10. It’s really rather brave to stay the course when it’s so frustrating, but I hope a return to blogging will be helpful to you. I will enjoy reading whatever you feel ready to share–fellow bloggers can be very encouraging and supportive. I’m very sorry to hear about your headaches.

    • Thanks much! I’ve managed to get used to the headaches, compliments of a decade’s worth of work. It’s the word-finding thing that’s REALLY bugging me. Like I’ve said before, I’m hoping that exercising things will shake the words loose, so to speak.
      Again, thanks for stopping by, and the kind words.

  11. Archon's Den says:

    To “coin” a phrase, John the “Loonie” would be Canadian. 🙂

    • You can only call me a coin if you promise to bring back the Canadian penny. I refuse to be 10 dimes, but I will allow being 100 pennies – it sounds like so much more! 😀

      • benzeknees says:

        Never fear, the Canadian penny is coming back! The experiment did not work & the government changed their mind a while back already.

      • Fascinating. I know Oz did away with the penny, and I believe the Kiwis dumped their 5-cent as well. I like that idea – most cashiers I’ve met recently have a hard enough time counting out the paper money, much less the coin change. Save ’em all a decimal point! 😀

Leave a Reply

