“A Prayer” – A Poem.

Just a little something that’s been ratting around in my head since last night. WARNING – this piece is NOT light in tone, nor mild in imagery. So, having been properly warned, I give you “A Prayer”.

A Prayer

Before I go to sleep each night
And let things drift away,
I beseech God with all my might,
That He grant what I pray.

My prayer might sound a fair bit cruel
Or harsh for what I beseech.
But I seek to use it as a tool
For those I need to teach.

I ask that those in positions of power,
Who send our forces to fight,
Should, each one, for at least an hour,
Watch a loved one’s eyes lose light.

That a beloved offspring’s hand they hold,
As from wounds sustained, they die.
That they feel the skin go slowly cold,
And hear that final sigh.

That they feel the blood that has been shed
So clammy, slippery, and slick
And know it was THEIR words, so grandly said,
That ended their loved one too quick.

So once again, as day becomes night,
This terrible prayer I will say,
In hope that words, and not military might
Will end conflicts … perhaps, one day.

This entry was posted in Military, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to “A Prayer” – A Poem.

  1. Elyse says:

    Well said, John. If only…

    • I’m honoured, my liege, but jeez – don’t you have anything better to do than hang around this forsaken corner of the Net? 😉

      • Elyse says:

        Actually I am swamped at work and have a house full of guests (them, not me, as I’m at work), and took a mini-break. Now I’m waiting for something to finish printing.

        But You appear so rarely I went right to your post when I saw it!

        Happy Easter or happy weekend or whatever!

      • I promise to do my best to rectify that situation, post haste!

  2. tom says:

    Has there ever been a time in history when war wasn’t raging somewhere? Unfortunately it must be something in the water.

    • About the only times that somebody hasn’t been fighting somebody else is when both sides pause to reload. Sadly, as Shakespeare once said, “the fault lies not in our stars (or the water), but in ourselves”.

  3. Archon's Den says:

    As deep as the water. As Elyse said when she beat me to it, If Only!

    • Thanks! Some babbling politician on one of the news shows I watch was the initial inspiration, then it just kind of grew from there. Missing the heck out of ‘Rants really helped, too! 😉

  4. benzeknees says:

    Reblogged this on benzeknees and commented:
    I could not think of a better way to say the thoughts expressed on John’s blog, so I encourage you to read them for yourselves.

  5. benzeknees says:

    I cannot even begin to tell you how much your prayer touched me. I hope you don’t mind I re-blogged this.

  6. Some just know how to write.

  7. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Very powerful and moving words, John.

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Now that is out of your head, is there anything left in there to rattle around? Well said about human barbarism.

    • Oh, trust me, there’s always plenty of things rattling around up top. Too much, usually. 😉 Like I said to Gram… er … Archon above, some prattling politician’s blithe attitude towards their soldiers triggered the first thoughts. Pols who use soldiers as props really wind me the wrong way!

      • aFrankAngle says:

        …. and the topping on the cake is the pathetic support given by the gov’t …. VA funding should be MUCH higher.

      • Jon Stewart did a bit about how the DOD and the VA use TWO different systems to track the wounded soldiers, and they can’t talk to each other. If that ain’t the living, breathing definition of WTF, I don’t know what is!

  9. El Guapo says:

    It’s a pity that most of those who clamor for war know nothing about the reality.
    Beautifully put, John.

Leave a Reply

