The Difference Between A Snowdrift and A Manure Pile.

Just to let you all know, I haven’t fallen off the edge of the Earth, or anything dramatic. We got a lot of snow, with a LOVELY layer of ice preceding it, making clearing operations a royal pain. Plus. the township guy who usually plows the side roads disappeared, my driveway took on the consistency of a bobsled run, and the wife worked yesterday. SO – it was all up to me. I had to clear my own sidewalk, the church sidewalk across the street, the side street to GET to the church parking lot, and enough of the parking lot so my wife could park off the street. Which consisted of shoveling snow (about 8″ of wet stuff), then chiseling through the ice, then shoveling THAT up. By hand. While keeping the wood furnace going so the house didn’t turn into an icicle. All that was yesterday – today was clearing all 150’+ of driveway, plus cleaning up everything that melted onto things and froze, plus restocking the wood in the basement from the garage, plus pulling down snowbergs that sagged of our and the church’s roofs.

#&@%*!!!!

So, I’ll get to all the responses to my last post about Gerry Anderson, AND to the posts for the last two days, AND to whatever comes in tomorrow morning, during the day tomorrow. While I sit here and listen to muscles I didn’t know I had scream obscenities I didn’t know existed! šŸ˜€

Oh, and the answer? None, when you’re ankle-deep in either – HEAD FIRST! šŸ˜Æ

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to The Difference Between A Snowdrift and A Manure Pile.

  1. julesagray says:

    Um, I saw a dude with snot frozen to his face today if that makes you feel any better, hon.

  2. El Guapo says:

    Less than three months to spring!

    • Yeah – but January gives us our heaviest snow! Then again, we’ve beaten our total for ALL of last winter, just up through the end of December. High hope for no more snow? Or horror to come? šŸ˜‰

  3. benzeknees says:

    The biggest reason we moved into an apt. last year? Hubby was tired of all the snow shovelling! When we lived in Pickle Lake we also had a wood burning furnace except ours was about 50 ft outside our back door instead of in the actual house, so hubby had to get all dressed warmly to go out & stoke the furnace every day during the winter. So I can empathize with you about both.

    • You know, I always wondered how people could tolerate living in apartments, without a yard or their own property. And nowadays, I wonder FAR less with each passing year! šŸ˜€

      • benzeknees says:

        John – you just get to a point where you can’t do a good job of some of the heavier work anymore – that’s how you end up in an apt. Maybe we could have hired someone to shovel snow & cut grass, but due to some of my disabilities I was having trouble coping with the inside too. Our house was just too big, so move to a smaller house & pay people to keep helping us? Or move to an apt?

      • Oh, trust me, our next house WILL have a smaller yard, AND a paved driveway that is NOT shared with idiot neighbors! Oh, and a small, sound-proof room, where my wife can get away from my grousing! šŸ˜€

      • benzeknees says:

        I want a sound-proof room! I want one! I want one! (as she stamps her foot) Not a small one though because I’m claustrophobic. I have a grousing hubby too! I call him the nag! He can’t complain I nag because he does it all for me!

      • Well, you can do one on the cheap with a closet and a bunch of Goodwill blankets. You gotta pay more for a custom job, but I could probably whip something up for you. How’s hubby with power tools – or shouldn’t I ask? šŸ˜‰

      • benzeknees says:

        Hubby is very good with power tools & that’s part of the problem. If he helped build it, he would know there was a way in & follow me inside – then I would be trapped & couldn’t get away from his nagging!

      • Ah – but that’s why I only teach YOU how to install the lock, that only works from the INside…. šŸ˜‰

  4. Tori Nelson says:

    Well that sounds downright awful. On the positive side, you’ll have a degree is creative cussing in no time šŸ™‚

  5. There is nothing worse than the mixture of snow with rain or ice on top of it. We had that last week and of course my husband forgot to put gas in our snow blower. So I ended up shoveling our driveway, every shovelful weighing about 100 pounds. I pulled something in my lower back and can still feel pain today. grrrr!! You’d better believe my husband got an earful when he can home from work.

    • Ouch – no gas in the snowblower? Ain’t that like the silver medal of hubby screw-ups? I took the safe way out – never got one! (Hey, we had like 50′ of driveway back in Chicago. Here, the dang front STAIRS are 50′ of real estate, then there’s the driveway, and th church sidewalk, and the church parking lot….. (Seems a bit odd that my responsibilities are increasing with my age. I thought it was supposed to go the other way? :p )

  6. unfetteredbs says:

    *&^% is right John. I hate hate hate the cold/snow. That is why we wives get married in the first place.. to never shovel the manure šŸ™‚

  7. aFrankAngle says:

    You’re a good man for taking care of the church, although not an easy task. Do what you need to do, and then work the rest of us in when you can.

    • I’ve actually gotten through all my read notes! And tomorrow, we’re supposed to see sun! SUN! Light at the end of the tunnel! (Wait – what’s that train whistle noise? šŸ˜‰ )

  8. Elyse says:

    Everybody else is being nice about your absence. Not me. I don’t care what else you have to do. Your priority should be to us here in the ‘sphere. Clearing words is far more important than clearing snow. For your wife. For the church. For yourself.

    John, I am surprised at you.

    Then again, it’s snowing here, and I expect you momentarily to clear the 1/4 mile driveway.

  9. Saves gym membership costs!

  10. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Me too, John! I got ice and 8 inches of the white stuff on Christmas Day! Ice is the worst for me – it took out some tree limbs, one of my flags, and the power for a while. I’ve been hauling in wood for the stove and shoveling off my back porch. Stay warm and don’t work too hard!

    • Ouch – we didn’t lose any power (thankfully). “One” of your flags? Might I ask what flags you fly?
      I think I have all the stuff shoveled that needs it. Hoping the sun tomorrow gets rid of some of the piles! šŸ˜€

      • whiteladyinthehood says:

        Oh, I just have 2 flags – Old Glory (which held up in the ice!) and one that has a rattlesnake on it and the words, “Don’t tread on me”. (I have them for sentimental reasons)…it’s been rescued and will be washed and re-hung. (Hope you get some warm sunshine!!)

      • Glad to hear your flags came through okay. Yes, we did get SUNSHINE! (Okay, it was also about 23 degrees, so VERY little melted, but it’s progress! šŸ˜€ )

  11. Archon's Den says:

    Americans don’t usually associate Canada and Civilization, but I’ve got snowplows, electricity, gas heat and a short driveway. I’m sorry it’s you, but I’m glad it’s not me. You’re my grand….friend.

    • Oh, I know plenty of civilisation in Canada. After all, YOU guys guys gave us Tim Horton’s! The fire’s not the big problem (a constant but small pain), except when the driveway supplying the wood is an ice skating rink! But I’m back to clear …. for now …. šŸ˜€
      Thanks, my friend. šŸ˜‰

  12. Margarita says:

    You’re reminding me how grateful I am to be living in the city and not having snow-removal duties like I did when I lived in the ‘burbs decades ago! Hmmm, record what those muscles are saying, might expand all our vocabularies! xoM

    • Oh, I KNOW what the muscles are saying, and most of it is FAR beyond my self-imposed PG-13 rating! šŸ˜€ And though I was almost certain you had already commented on my blog, WordPress says different, so welcome!

  13. Binky says:

    I shoveled about 8 feet of a driveway. That was enough. I think I would have used a flame thrower.

    • Well, I kept asking my Army buddy Brainrants to call in a napalm strike, but the little bugger never got back to me. He’ll probably pull out that tired, old excuse of his being in a war zone. Some people! šŸ˜‰

  14. rarasaur says:

    Yikes! What a nightmare… Maybe next time just forget the car and finangle a bobsled…. :). I hope everything is still ok over there. šŸ™‚

    • I’m still working out the logistics of a cat-powered sled. I’m just having troubles making the little buckles for their harnesses. šŸ˜€ Looking forward to a day of sun, catching up, and letting all my aches and pains relax!

Leave a Reply

