An Oops, And a Heads Up.

Yesterday, I put up what was supposed to be a brief statement acknowledging the tragic events in Connecticut. Unfortunately, I violated the founding principle of this blog to keep things light, and worse, I may have insulted or offended some of my loyal minions (oh MAN, I’ve ALWAYS wanted minions!).

Oops. My bad. Mea culpa. I apologise. (Pick any 3.)

I promise, in the future, to keep things light around here, to keep my nose out of politics, and to keep my big, fat mouth SHUT! (Expect many repeated failures – just ask my wife.)

And tomorrow, you’ll get part 1 of a two part post. Hope you enjoy it. And thank you for your patience and support.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to An Oops, And a Heads Up.

  1. Elyse says:

    You know what, John? You are allowed to write about whatever you want to write about.

  2. tom says:

    My philosophy is never apologize until Lindsay Lohan either wins the Oscar or spends a full day in jail.

  3. El Guapo says:

    I bet it was Elyse, right? I knew it!

    From the general community that I’ve seen, even when opinions differ, as long as bothsides actually listen to each other (and they generally do) and refrain from petty sniping, all viewpoints have been welcome.
    I thought your post was well crafted and logical. I hope no one did take offense to it, or at least gave a good argument of why.

    And I don’t do “minions”. Sorry…

    • I ain’t gonna snitch as to who (whom?) I may have offended. A gentleman never tells – and neither will I!
      And no, I wasn’t referring to you as MY minion – more the other way around for your august personage. (What happens to august personages after 31 days? Have you ever heard of a september personage? And if you’re not yet august, are you a july personage? πŸ˜€ )

  4. Ha!
    That’s all I have to add.

  5. aFrankAngle says:

    No need to apologize for two reasons: 1) It’s your blog, and 2) sometimes a situation warrants … thus in this case, both qualify.

  6. benzeknees says:

    You did not offend me or tick me off John, believe me you would know if you had. I have no problem with people owning a gun to hunt. Most hunters hunt to eat. And if they say they need a semi-automatic because they might need more than one bullet to kill a rampaging bear or moose or mountain lion, then my answer is go to a shooting range & improve your aim so you only need one bullet. You can have your guns for your re-enactments, as long as they are changed so they can never hold live rounds. There has to be a better way to handle guns in our society to cut down on the number of massacres. But we can be friends.

    • I agree with everything you’ve said here. I’ve just been a little bit frustrated with all the “ban all guns” calls. That’s the kind of call that makes a lot of gun owners dig in their heels. We need steps, to fix this over time – because it was created over time. The comparison I’ve come to use is that of car crashes. Seat belts didn’t stop all fatalities,, nor airbags nor anti-lock brakes. But each step made cars safer, and by progressively getting rid of the worst offenders is the only way I see of getting out of this situation we’re in.
      And I’m glad to know we’re still friends. It took me too long to find you, I’d hate to lose you before I’ve thoroughly annoyed the HECK outta you! πŸ˜‰

  7. Teeny Bikini says:

    I find you to be very thoughtful. I read that last blog and it seemed very balanced to me. I think part of the problem is everyone is still emotionally raw from the tragedy. It really is a lot to grapple with on every level. And the sadness is palpable. Thank you for being you. It is okay. πŸ™‚ Cheers.

    • My dear, you are a winner! You are the FIRST person to say I’m okay! πŸ˜€
      Oh – I just realised you haven’t gotten the initiation speech. (Ahem.) I ask only one thing of my online friends. If a reporter ever comes to you and asks about me, you CANNOT say “He was a nice, quiet guy”. You are OBLIGATED to grab the mike and scream at the camera “He was a freakin’ LOON! He collected SWORDS, fer God’s sake! I’ve been waitin’ fer him ta just FLIP – and he DID! See? SEE?!? He’s nuts!” πŸ˜€
      (Ahem.) And as always, thank you, for your support.

Leave a Reply

