Wacky Weed Wins Washington! Furry Foundling Finds Friend!

Yeah, you’ve probably heard this already, but what the hey.

Marijuana!

Marijuana!

Yep – Washington State has made it legal to own up to an ounce of Marijuana without running afoul of the law. Mind you, it’s still Federally illegal, so your butt is STILL grass. (Hmm – not sure that was the best metaphor.)

Anyway, I’ve added yet another furry foundling to my growing score. Had a drop-in by a really nice Collie/Samoyed mix. I’m gonna put together a post tomorrow, showing some of my four-legged friends who’ve shown up on my front or back porch, including a Stryper update, so stay tuned.

And in the meantime, smoke ’em if you got ’em – but only if you have BBQ potato chips and mint/chocolate chip ice cream available! (Ahem – not that I have anyΒ personal experience with Mary Jane, you understand. πŸ˜‰ )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Wacky Weed Wins Washington! Furry Foundling Finds Friend!

  1. unfetteredbs says:

    now I want mint choc chip ice cream…. and I have no experience as well. Although….

  2. Elyse says:

    I am the only person I know who did not try pot. Nope. Not once. Never. No sirreee bob. I was a misfit even back in the day.

    Looking forward to seeing your furry friends. I may be a friend, but I do something about the furry bits.

    • Hmm. Guess I should’ve been more specific, and stated I was talking about my FOUR-LEGGED friends. Then again, with some of the friends I had both in college and in re-enacting, that wouldn’t help much, either. πŸ˜€
      Gotta admit, I’ve never done the wacky weed – no matter how improbable that seems. I had a number of college mates who did, but they smoked it, and I’ve always had low-level breathing problems (any head cold immediately fills the lungs and triggers coughing fits), so I took a pass. Besides, most of ’em turned into mental Jell-O after smoking the stuff. (Though there was this one dude, former military – tank driver, remind you of anyone? – who actually got SMARTER when stoned. Seriously, I carefully watched him one D&D night, and the guy went from a stumble-bum to friggin’ Patton!)
      My point? You can aspire to all-natural weirdness – I’m living proof! 😯

    • I haven’t tried it either, not once, the smell gives me terrible headaches and makes me nauseous.
      Sometimes I feel like I’m missing something, I gotta man up once and try it, once, yeah, I gotta man up once and try it. Once.

  3. tom says:

    Lets see. Clinton can go to Washington and he won’t have to inhale. Obama, a Hawiian toker of some renoun, may need a vacation to washington.

    • Now, remember the technicalities. Weed is still illegal at the FEDERAL level. So Billy’s gotta wait for Hilary to quit, and Barry’s gotta hold off for another 4 years. Unless:
      A) Common sense breaks out in DC and they legalise it Federally (yeah, right)
      B) Bill and Barry hire Lance Armstrong’s doping doc. Hey, it took the Frogs more than 4 years just to release their PRELIMINARY complaints! πŸ˜‰
      Personally, I’m waiting for the couple next door to run into a bit more financial trouble. They have this cool little room, attached but not accessible under cover from the house, which would make a PERFECT pot garden. And we’ve been collecting solar lights, so there’s no drain on the electrical grid – hint, hint. πŸ˜€

  4. ew! Mint chip? Yuck! The only things that should be minty are mints and gum!

    • Hmm. Interesting. I’ve always found having my gums made of human tissue works better than having them made of mint. πŸ˜‰
      Hey, to each their own. I personally think it’s a waste of good chocolate, but there are some truly HIDEOUS combos coming out of Ben and Jerry’s. Hey … wait … aren’t they from the Pacific Northwest? Maybe a new flavour – Washington “Mint”? Where the mint IS a plant, but not necessarily mint-flavoured, but DEFINITELY inspires repeat purchases – right at that moment? πŸ˜€

  5. mobius faith says:

    Definitely chip – and the saltier the better. Ice Cream needs to be butter pecan. Yum.
    I gotta say I’m looking forward to the “Stryper update”. Sheesh why does my spell check keep wanting to change Styper to stripper? At any rate. found your blog though “A Frank Angle”. Looking forward to more great stuff.

    • Hey there, mobius!
      Oh, WordPress’s spell checker has some really odd ideas on correcting spelling. My “x” key doesn’t always work, but when I end up with “eact” and want “exact”, it gives me everything BUT! As to Stryper, I gotta get my IT chief (the wife) to upload the photos, so stay tuned – I’ll get there yet.
      And once again a hearty Welcome, mobius, glad to see you over here. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    Put me in the never a smoker category … and of course I’m looking forward to the menagerie update. πŸ˜‰ …. For the record, mint chocolate chip ice cream is awesome – especially the frozen delight from Cincinnati-based Graeter’s … but one question … your first-ever post on December 7th, and nothing about Pearl Harbor. You could have at least mentioned the Kamikaze swimmers that most people don’t know about. http://www.theonion.com/articles/kamikaze-swimmers-finally-reach-pearl-harbor,21147/

    • I love the kamikaze swimmers! Sorry, Frank, I’m running a bit slow today – still fighting some kind of cold/flu bug that’s been wreaking havoc on my headaches. I think I sufficiently covered my butt with my post today – with a special nod to something you said. And I remember a running joke when I was younger, about a Japanese man who was famous for being the only Japanese pilot in World War 2 with 17 successful kamikaze missions! πŸ˜€
      And don’t forget the 40th of Apollo 17, either. Gotta keep nudging all parties to get humanity’s butt of this dirtball again! πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for the chuckle – and as always, for your support.

      • aFrankAngle says:

        Glad the kamikaze swimmers meets your approval … and the hero of 17 kamikaze missions is a classic. Now that in itself could be a worthy story to tell in a post. Thanks for the Apollo 17 reminder.

      • Unfortunately, the joke IS the whole story about the pilot! Though, I suppose I COULD invent something…… πŸ˜‰

  7. whiteladyinthehood says:

    True story! When the little ones come up to me crying, “So n So called me stupid!” I say, “Well, are you stupid?” they say no and run away feeling better…this can go on FOREVER some days..I find myself saying, “Well, are you ugly? a poo-poo head?” etc. We have a new instructor…she’s learning the ropes… a little girl ran up to her the other day and was mad…the new girl asked her what was wrong…she said, “Those boys over there are making fun of my mom! They are calling her a Weedsmoker!” New instructor didn’t hesitate! She said, “Well, that’s silly! Does your mom smoke weed?” the girl said, “Well, yeah…” and busted into tears…I thought the new girl’s eyes were going to pop out of her head…

    • πŸ˜€ Ooo, swing and a miss, strike one! I learned LONG ago, you gotta WATCH what you say around kids. You might think that college degree puts you way up on them, but Oh, No, it don’t! πŸ˜‰
      But hey, the girl never made it clear if mommy smoked weed, or mommy smoked weeds. Maybe she just couldn’t afford cigarettes? (Hey, I’m tryin’ ta help here! Gimme SOMETHIN’ ta work with! πŸ˜€ )

  8. I graduated high school in 1970. I didn’t have to smoke it…all I had to do was go into the girls restroom and inhale…

  9. benzeknees says:

    I’m going to be brave & admit I have tried weed & hash, but not since the 1970’s. Right now, I get a contact high off the neighbors & their “skunk stinky weed.”

    • Ya know, if that weed stinks that badly, it might not be just weed – I’ve heard of weed being mixed with PCP or other stuff to “juice it up”. Any possibility there might, just by coincidence, happen to be a police patrol walking through the neighborhood? You know – just PURELY by chance?

  10. I am a pro-pot person. Always have been. I went to college near Seattle. That’s all I’ll say about that. I figure if alcohol is legal, why not pot?

    • I have said for DECADES that pot should be identical to cigarettes, with all the same legal restriction and taxes. Sell pot cigarettes or loose weed like you do tobacco today. Your guidelines are in place, your taxation is in place, everything would be ready to roll. It’d keep a lot of people out of jail who don’t really belong there, it’d give jobs to people around the country selling and distributing, and it would remove one of the great “gateways” to future criminal behaviour. (No, I don’t buy the “gateway drug” BS.)
      And if the government had legalised it sooner, Hostess would still be in business! πŸ˜€

  11. El Guapo says:

    I can’t wait to see how Washington and Colorado reconcile against the Federal system.

    But I bet the convenience stores will be running a whole new set of ad campaigns soon!

    • I’m kinda surprised there wasn’t some attempt by the Fed to break up the “lighting parties” that the various news shows reported, all across Washington state. But knowing the current political climate, I’d say the Fed will do precisely bupkis until a lawsuit is brought. And then we get to wait for the Supreme Court, one of the highest in age and lowest in party potential group in the WORLD, to decide if pot is legal nationally.
      Don’t hold your breath waiting, it’ll be worse for you than toking up! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

