Sometimes, It Just Drops In Your Lap.

For Thanksgiving, I had this whole, long post full of emotional drivel. Then, my wife sent me a picture from her cell phone. And bang! Right there, I had my Thanksgiving post. (Yeah, a couple days early, I know. Tough turkeys. 😉 )

One thing you need to know. Before we bought the house we’re in right now, we rented a trailer. Yep – white trash central, at the corner of Redneck Road and Hick Highway. It wasn’t in the best shape when we moved in. The windows leaked water, the doors didn’t close tight, and there was a rotten hole in the living room. But pickings were mighty slim, and money slimmer, so we took the place. I got the windows so they didn’t leak water OR air, we patched the floor hole, sealed up the doors, and were prepared to do a “life lease” on the property, where we’d own the place until we moved or died, whereupon our landlord would take the property back. But the old fart didn’t want to anything like that, so we moved. That was about five years ago.

Our Former Home – Or What’s Left.

You see theflat spot just off the road, pretty much dead center of the photo? That’s where the trailer was. See the pile of pink insulation behind (and downhill of) the flat spot? That’s the trailer. Or what’s left of it. Not sure what the story is, I’ll get the details when my wife gets home after work tonight, but needless to say, our former home is … well … former.

So this Thanksgiving, I’m thankful that an ornery old fart wouldn’t accept our offer for what is now scrap. And I am VERY thankful I live in a house that is NOT mobile. Or former. Or two-dimensional.

 

So Happy Thanksgiving to my American readers. Go stuff yourself with turkey and enjoy the time with family and friends. To my readers from other countries, have yourselves a good week and, if you have them, good luck with the sales.

And be thankful your roof isn’t now your floor – or sub-basement – or recyclables. 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Sometimes, It Just Drops In Your Lap.

  1. -waves from outback Queensland, Australia- While I don’t celebrate Thanksgiving, a big thank you for your message. Shame about the former house, but I note that its always something to see where we used to live, and how much things change, when we have moved on. Or in your case, where it used to be. ❤ Cheers for the blog.

    • Well, hello from half a world away! Welcome, and thanks for stopping by. Needless to say, this photo came as rather a surprise. Up until now, all my former homes were still standing! I guess 5 out of 6 ain’t TOO bad. 😀
      And once again, welcome, and thanks!

  2. aFrankAngle says:

    Sometimes it those spontaneous posts to work the best! Happy Thanksgiving to you and Tamy!

  3. Happy thanksgiving No-hio! (My auto correct changes it to no-hip!). Hope you have a nice one in your walled house!

  4. fasab says:

    Nice post – in the photo I mean. Just kidding, I think some of the good old days weren’t so good looking back at them without the rose tinted glasses. That’s my experience anyway. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your good lady.

    • Thanks. Gotta admit, living in that place is one memory I’ll gladly lose to fried synapses! And a very Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours! The wife has to work Thursday evening, so I’ll be home alone – maybe I’ll get up to some posting devilry! 😉

  5. Elyse says:

    It’s the little things, isn’t it?

    On a more serious note, HOLY SHIT, JOHN! Now I will have the Pink Panther theme in my head until Christmas…

    Glad you don’t live there. Glad you rented from an asshole. Glad you and your wife are safe and sound.

  6. Archon's Den says:

    Thanx for stopping by my site, and actually signing to follow. I was happy enough when you lent the place a little legitimacy by leaving the occasional comment, and poking fun at the old…. Ooops, another Alzheimer moment

    • Hey, I’m just glad it finally took! This is the 3rd time I tried to sign on to follow – it took my “receive email notices” but refused to keep me signed on for new posts. Glad to know I’m finally aboard!
      And speaking of Alzheimer’s, I can’t remember if you’re Canadian or not, so I’m gonna take a risk and wish you a Happy Thanksgiving. If it’s on time, great. If it’s belated, well, it’s the thought that counts, right? Right?!? PLEASE?!?!? 😉

      • benzeknees says:

        I have tried to sign on to Archon’s Den too & I never get the posts – something in the water? But then, I don’t think you get the same water where you live (Massachussets? Ohio?) as I do in Alberta.
        Loved this post, it’s always a treat when you get to see something like this. The first house I ever lived in with my parents (until I was 5) was a little shack in the middle of nowhere. It had running water, but no flush toilet, so you had to toilet on a seat on top of a very high can which my dad had take out & dump. No bathtub – my sister & I were bathed in the kitchen sink & my parents heated water on top of the stove & then bathed in a big tub in the kitchen. The city appropriated our property was I was 5 years old for a new development. We then moved into a brand new house. A few years later I went back to the area where our old house was & the city had turned it into a “Natural Prairie Museum” surrounded by housing developments. When I still lived in Wpg. I could go every spring & see the crocuses like I did when I was very young.

      • Wow – I think most Amish would consider that setup Spartan! I really wish we’d gotten to more of Canada when we were traveling, but our travels never too us outside Ontario 0 except for a brief foray through Quebec.
        Speaking of plumbing (nice segue, eh?), would you believe that, of all our old trailer’s stuff, all that still stands are the sink, toilet, and bathtub? It would have been more appropriate to lose the sink and bathtub – a toilet standing on a lone pipe would be a great monument! 😀

  7. k8edid says:

    My husband and I lived in a one room school house when we first married – it was, basically, one big room with room dividers, and a tiny bathroom and laundry room carved out of the front (the school bell was still operational, though). I loved that old place, even with its lack of privacy, pump in the back room that was so loud it could wake the dead, and its proximity to the railroad tracks (about 100 feet). Hubby hated it. We sold it and moved into town…the last time I saw the place it was a smoldering pile of embers. I guess I was glad I didn;t get my way that time…

    Happy Thanksgiving to you. I’m glad you didn’t live there any longer. Be safe and happy.

    • A real, old-timey schoolhouse? Too cool! Pity it burned down – I bet there was some GREAT history in that building (and I don’t mean the classes). I guess the railroad proximity would depend on frequency of trains. A college friend of mine had an apartment one street over from one leg of the “El” near Wrigley Field. He had a lot of trouble sleeping, but he weekends I’d drop in to game, I’d sleep just fine, and drove him NUTS! He wanted to know my secret, and I told him it was easy – live underneath O’Hare Airport’s landing pattern, and you can sleep through just about anything!
      And a very Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, k8edid. And as always, thanks for dropping by and commenting

  8. Archon's Den says:

    Yeah, I’m Canadian. Just up the road from your Rileys. We’ve already had our indigestion, but thanx for the thought. I just found your food-fight with Argus, at the Alamo. He’s a Kiwi. I don’t know what twisted his tail so tight. He makes some slight points, but needs to discover the difference between truth and tact. We had two young Afghani female students in Toronto who disrupted the two minutes of silence on the 11th by complaining about the killing of some Taliban fighters, by American troops. The stupid irony and lack of respect was just breath-taking. Your grovelling apology is accepted.

    • I thought you were a neighbour to the Royal Hamiltons, but the memory doesn’t always fire on all cylinders. Not sure what was with Argus, but as a Kiwi, he should be extra-respectful, considering the folk who settled NZ did so willingly, while the first batches of Aussies were given one-way tickets. The New Zealanders could’ve told King and Country to stuff it, but went willingly, and were distinctly higher up the social and educational levels, so they knew what they were doing. Ah well, c’est la guerre.!
      And a very Happy .. er … November 22nd to you and yours! 😀

  9. Holy crap! crazy. Happy thanksgiving to you and yours, John.

  10. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Well, I personally wouldn’t call it white trash just because you lived in a trailer (you were doing the best with what you had at the time! I did bust out laughing at the Redneck Road and Hick Highway…it’s the southern in me, I guess) I hope your wife gets the scoop on what happened to it!
    I lived in a trailer for a summer when I lived in the country – it was a nice one, but I have to admit I really kinda hated it. We, too, eventually moved into a house that had been a former one-room school house (I was surprised your other friend had an experience like that). I’ll have to write a post about it closer to Christmas..my husband got pretty inebriated on some Jack Daniels and decided we needed a “real” 20 ft. Christmas tree for our first Christmas living together…heavy sigh….I never want to be 19 again..ha!
    Happy Thanksgiving, Erickson! Hope you and your wife have a great one!

    • Well, we weren’t (and still aren’t) too redneck, but I’ll just say this – at night, anywhere around here, you can hear banjos echoing…. 😀
      I’ll watch for the story. In the meantime, you have yourself a Happy Thanksgiving on one condition – call me “John”, for cryin’ out loud! 😉

  11. Tori Nelson says:

    Bullet. Dodged. That’s crazy!

    • Our long-term plan would’ve been to abandon that trailer in place, and gotten another one – some silly tax loophole would’ve made it cheaper than replacing that particular one. But we got something a tad less mobile, even if it IS just as creaky as I am!
      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours, my dear Tori!

  12. Road Dave says:

    Enjoy the Thanksgiving. Especially the Thanks.

    • And a Happy … er … 175th Anniversary of William Lyon Mackenzie calling for a rebellion of Upper Canada against the United Kingdom! (Well, you guys had to go and have YOUR Thanksgiving already! 😉 )
      And as always, we thank you, for your support. 😀

  13. Teeny Bikini says:

    John, Isn’t life amazing? How things work out… I am surely happy my roof is roof-like and nor leaking or anything. Heck, I love the darn thing. Here’s to having homes we like living in… Cheers to you and your wife.

  14. I grew up in a trailer and hope to never ever ever ever ever ever live in one ever ever ever again! I have had my fill of them and feel of them.

    Water bugs, ants, rodents, tornadoes, 100mph straight line winds, frozen pipes… ugh!

    I am so glad my parents built their own house (of course after I move out)

    As far as growing up in tornado ally in the States, I like my neck of the woods here in Germany. 🙂

    • We were lucky enough to have a family of feral cats living under our trailer, so we were pretty bug free. And two sides of it were at ground level, so the underneath (with all the plumbing) was partially protected from cold temperatures, as well as holding in the heat from the sub-floor heat vents. But yeah, it was a dump, and frankly, I won’t shed a single tear for it!
      As to the 100mph straight line winds, well, we’ve been having those here for over a year! Kinda scary to sit in an overbuilt house like this and listen to the wall joints creak! 😯
      And last but far from least, welcome aboard! (To everybody else – it’s THIS guy’s fault I have a blog. Please send all letter bombs to HIM! 😀 )

  15. Binky says:

    A house is always something to be very grateful for, though some of us do take that for granted sometimes.

    • Yep, Binky, as the old song goes, “you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone”. With all its’ aches and pains, I am VERY thankful this house doesn’t move … much. 😉

  16. Whoa! I’m glad things worked out the way they did. (Because, naturally, I mean to go out and buy the property myself . . . I mean, what?!)

    • Oh, dear lady, you do NOT want this property – unless you have one leg shorter than the other! Let me put it this way – besides the small level area for the trailer, the property behind declines at an AVERAGE of 40 degrees. And there are a couple of plateaus (plateaux?) at the far back where it meets an old (now dry) creek, and where a storage shed stood. There were literally areas I couldn’t climb up!
      Now, if you can lay hands on a snow-making machine cheap, we might be able to set up a VERY small ski hill…. 😉 😀
      p.s. Would it be permissible to refer to you as St. Deb, since you ARE the patron saint of my blog? 😀

  17. You’ve got mail, check your spam folder just in case.

Leave a Reply

