Attention, Mr. and Mrs. America, And All Our Ships At Sea!

Flash! This just in, from BusinessInsider.Com (with thanks to Tom):

“Twinkies have been saved β€” for now.Hostess and the Bakers Union have agreed to mediation, preventing a shutdown, CNBC reports.

Judge Robert Drain of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court of White Plains, N.Y., suggested it as a way to resolve their differences, The Wall Street Journal reports.

“Moving to a liquidation is also a significant economic hit, and I think that many people, myself included, have serious questions as to the logic behind the decision to strike and a concern that it may be as a result of differences as far as information and goals,” he said.

“I’m giving the union, as well as the debtors and their lenders, the last chance.”

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/twinkies-are-saved-hostess-and-bakers-union-agree-to-mediation-2012-11#ixzz2CheFoxob

Woo-hoo for all you Twinkie and Cupcake lovers! And a serious hope that a lot of people don’t lose their jobs right before the holidays. Thanks to my newshound Tom! πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Attention, Mr. and Mrs. America, And All Our Ships At Sea!

  1. julesagray says:

    all of the people bitching about the demise of those shit cakes need to visit whitewhine.com because that’s a good example of how fucking stupid they sound.

  2. tom says:

    During the negotiation sessions, participants will have their choice tof ding dongs or bologna on wonder Bread sandwitches.

  3. Those are good news indeed.
    I have asked a friend to bring me some Twinkies, she bought them, she’s coming next week, I thought I would never see Twinkies again, never been a fan of them too dry for me and too artificial, but I wanted to be part of history.
    I’m glad for those who are gonna keep their jobs,

  4. Ah, what a wonderful laugh! NBC is actually covering the re-birth of Hostess! And from a location near to my former house, in Schiller Park, Illinois! πŸ˜€

  5. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Whew!

  6. Elyse says:

    I was going to make a snarky comment, but then I saw your comment about how it was all about the jobs, so I won’t.

    I’m glad that the folks at the factory will keep their jobs. Now we just need them to make a better product.

  7. benzeknees says:

    How is it the union (workers) & creditors need to negotiate (take less money) when the CEO just gave himself a HUGE raise! This seems to me to be the same as all the CEO’s threatening their workers with lay offs if they didn’t vote for Romney. – “Take less money or we’ll go bankrupt.” Threats anyone?

    • Hmm. Hadn’t heard that yet. Sounds like the first step in “re-alignment” negotiations would be to dump the CEO and start fresh!
      Speaking of the latter, have you heard of any of those CEOs making good on their threats? I’ll see what I can find – most of my news bookmarks avoid business news, to keep my blood pressure down. πŸ˜‰

      • benzeknees says:

        Think Papa John’s pizza John! That’s one off the top of my head – I would have to do some research to come up with any more examples.

      • Yeah, I remembered seeing that one go by. Can’t think of any of the other ones, though I’m sure one or two will percolate up from the depths of my memory. In the meantime, I’m keeping an eye on the whole Wal-Mart ballyhoo, for personal reasons (my wife’s work) and for interests. Considering that most Wal-Mart employees are non-union, and that the one of the unions pushing the strike doesn’t represent the workers at that store, should make for some interesting business activity in the next few days.

        Update, 9:00 pm. Looks like John Schnatter, CEO, is looking at both a small price rise ($.50 seems to be the agreed-upon number) and, more ominously, cutting hours so workers drop below the full-time mark and thus do not need to be covered by health insurance. There seems to be a Chik-Fil-A type of protest/counter-protest springing up, with people putting up Facebook pages and organising protests and support days. It’ll be interesting to see what happens in the next few weeks.

    • 300% Really? REALLY?!? The CEO tripled his pay, while driving the company to bankruptcy? Man, he must drive a Hummer to haul around brass cojones THAT big!

Leave a Reply

