Shoots and Ladders – Where I Keep Climbing Ladders and Letting Out “Shoot!”s.

Sorry for being away or a while, I’ve had what the old Chinese curse refers to as an “interesting” several days. First I was fighting an intestinal bug – great fun when the ONLY bathroom in the house is at the opposite end from the bedroom. Good news – not only am I feeling better, but I’ve cut a couple seconds off my 50-yard dash personal best! 😀

Then, with decent weather aiding me, I set out to fix some gutters. Twenty minutes, half an hour tops per point that needed fixed, right? WRONG! I’ve known Duncan yo-yos in my life that had fewer trips up and down! Up and down the dang ladder, fixing multiple hangers for the gutter. I finally got it done – one major repair down, even though it took me the better part of two days. And that was the easy one, on the garage. The front porch is going to require gutter AND roofing work. Oy!
I hope to get something up this week, with a bigger post toward the weekend. Until then, I’ll be fiddlin’ around on the roof! 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Shoots and Ladders – Where I Keep Climbing Ladders and Letting Out “Shoot!”s.

  1. tom says:

    Congratulations, you have your choice of being Man of the Year for either Home Depot or ObamaCare. choose wisely.

  2. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Glad you are feeling better!

  3. savorthedivorce says:

    I am settling into life WOM (without man) which means my gutters go unexamined and generally speaking the house falls into disrepair. I must find a local handy man to hire for my various problems.

    Erickson, are you seriously a real person? I mean I get that someone out there writes this blog – but are you really an honest to god real person? if so, one day we must sit down for a beer. you are one strange ass dude, and nothing makes me happier then fostering my acquaintences with strange ass dudes.

    • Oh, my dear lady, I am indeed real. As real as I ever get. Is the stuff I’m writing here made up? So far, not a bit of it. And there are stranger things to come, so stay tuned! And good luck with YOUR search for a handyman – I hope you can find one both inexpensive and reliable. If you lived nearby, I’d volunteer to take care of your stuff – soon as mine are in order, whenever THAT will be… 😀

  4. Elyse says:

    Careful up there!

  5. be careful Clarke Griswold

    • Think Tim Taylor of “Home Improvement” and you’ll be on the mark. I’ll see if I can dig up the pictures of me hanging from a rope harness after falling while installing a satellite dish. 😉 😀

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    Gads – I hate the Duncan approach with a ladder. Then again, a person has to do what they have to do. At least the first part is done, you’re feeling better, and you didn’t hurt yourself.

  7. I’d like to hear the rest of that Chinese curse.

    • Oh, I’m sure you’ve heard it! It goes “May you live in interesting times” – serves double duty as a blessing AND a curse. And in this creaky old house, I can safely assure you, that ALL the times spent here have been interesting – WAY too interesting! 😉

  8. Awww . . . feel better and be careful!

    • I’m over the bug, thankfully. Just spent 4 hours trying to get the wood furnace to burn, then BOOM! Out comes the sun, the temps go up 12 degrees, and I decided I was incompetent, so I fired myself. So today is a rest day, for the rest of the day. Kinda … never mind. 😀

  9. How fortunate that a case of–shall we just call it the flu?–improved your sprinting time! But I don’t think you’ll be quite as quick to find the silver lining in a fall from the roof. Be careful! 🙂 Debra

    • Well, so far, so … meh. 😉 I’m sitting out the rest of today – the gutters have to dry anyway – so we’ll see what ups and downs tomorrow brings. Hopefully identical numbers of each – it’s the one more down than up I gotta watch for….

  10. Just thinking about going up and down and back and forth like that makes me tired, John. Careful! Also, apologies for being tardy in replying to your most informative email — I haven’t forgotten, I’m just backlogged!

    • Oh, Madame, I know what backlogs feel like – I’m still catching up from the last few days! At least the front porch allows me soft grass and flowers if I slip – the garage and the shed are about 2’6″ apart, with a brick walkway. Ouch! 😀

  11. Good to know you’re feeling better. We had the same stomach bug go through our entire house last week. Both kids had it really bad. I did lots of laundry! It seems like everyone’s getting sick earlier this fall. I’m not looking forward to flu season. Take it easy fiddlin’ on that roof!

    • Wow, a whole family’s worth of sick? YEESH! I’m hoping we’ve gone through all the sickness for this year, and that the rest of the winter will be disease-free. Yeah – I doubt it too, but one can hope!
      Gotta check the weather tonight to see if tomorrow is another up-n-downer. Thanks for the good wishes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

