A Tribute To Absent Friends

I know I promised to try to keep this blog light. Unfortunately, the muse of inspiration strikes at times of HER choosing, not mine, and with her choice of emotion, as well. So, in tribute to a lovely lady now gone, Cindy, as well as to my own friends now absent, I dedicate the following to Cindy’s fortunate owner, my friend Dragonfae.

An Ode To Absent Friends

You came into our lives,
A bundle of fur and frivolity.
We weren’t sure how you would fit in,
Only that you would.

But who could’ve known
how well you would fit?
Who could’ve known that you
Would be more family than family?

Time passed, and your spirit
Lifted ours, your joy
Bringing joy to us,
Your smile making it all better.

As time passed, though,
We saw you slow down.
Though still brimming with life,
We knew the time drew near.

And now, we are left
Without your smile.
Our hearts are heavy,
Our souls and skies grown dark.

But we will remember the good days,
The lightness of spirit,
When your smile was the sun,
And you, the center of our world.

Good bye, old friend.
Enjoy the peace
You so richly deserve,
And thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Tribute To Absent Friends

  1. Elyse says:

    Oh John. As you know, we are in the twilight of our dog Cooper’s final days/weeks, so this strikes close to home. Perhaps this will help make the inevitable a little more bearable. it’s going to be a tough week.

  2. dragonfae says:

    Thank you John. Cindy was a wonderful companion and protector … she’s one of the most remarkable spirits I’ve ever come across and I was indeed fortunate to have her come into my life. *hugs*

    • I should probably not admit this, since it will destroy what little bit of macho image I have left, but I read your post with tears running down my face, thinking both about Cindy and my own “son”, Red Dwarf. It still hurts, a decade later. I hope this humble bit of prose can bring you a little comfort. 🙂

  3. julesagray says:

    we do love our pets.

  4. aFrankAngle says:

    A wonderful tribute to all pets – past, present, and future!

  5. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Beautiful.

  6. nonnie9999 says:

    stop making me cry!!!! 😥

    • I’m sorry, darlin’ but it’s kinda karma. You’ve made me laugh so many times, we gotta balance out the universe, no? Tell ya what, just for you, I’ll put an emphasis on my “How I Met My Wife” story. How can you NOT laugh at 3 people, all scared of heights, on a 10-story open balcony trying to out-macho each other – especially when one is a girl?! It’s got everything – sci-fi fandom, massive hurling, romance, sci-fi fandom, drama, sci-fi fandom … did I mention it has sci-fi fandom? 😀

  7. Sweet and beautiful words, John. I’ve been an emotional mess lately so the tears are coming.

  8. I’m so sorry for your loss, John. That was a beautiful tribute to absent friends. Glad to have found you! ~el

Leave a Reply

