A Tribute To Special Friends

Tribute To Special Friends

I was planning on something light and humourous for my 2nd post, but I realised two things. First, there are a large number of blogs I follow, but my blogroll doesn’t say anything about them. I will cure that in the near future. Second, with the number of people already signed on to my blog, that I had been given a truly rare gift – a leg up from some key people. While I highly recommend all of the blogs listed, there are a special few, folks who took me into the blogging world as a total neophyte, welcomed my silly and smart-aleck posts, and let me know I wasn’t alone, stuck here in a tiny town in the backwoods of Ohio. They made me part of a world-wide family, and they deserve a special shout-out. So, instead of some silly little story, or one of my idiotic adventures, I beg your indulgence while I introduce to you, my readers new and old alike, some VERY special people.

Padre Steve – http://www.padresteve.wordpress.com. The good Padre was the second blog I ever followed. As a Navy Chaplain, he covers military history, politics, religion, and especially, baseball. If you want some of the best World War 2 history lessons I’ve ever encountered in my 42 years of study, go see the Padre. If baseball’s your game, he’s your man. Indeed, whatever your interest, go see the Padre. Tell him I sent you, and he’ll even grant you forgiveness for knowing me. 😉

A Frank Angle – http://www.afrankangle.wordpress.com. Frank is a true Renaissance man. Science, politics, religion, dancing, cooking, sports, memories of childhood past and dreams of a fabulous future – you’ll find all this and more at Frank’s place. He just celebrated the rare 1,000th post, and shows no signs of slowing down. He was one of the strongest advocates for my blog, so if you like what you see here, go thank him.

And last, but farthest from least-
The Idiot Speaketh – http://www.redriverpak.wordpress.com. Mark is truly an incredible person, and his blogs should be required reading for all bloggers, new and old alike. Whether telling crazy stories of wild adventures – an indeterminate mix of biography and BS – reviewing wines, or helping people get through the condition (Cauda Equina Syndrome) that has taken over his life and has literally crippled him, Mark always manages to put a smile on your face. His indomitable will, facing it all and STILL making others feel better, is truly astounding. Go drop by, and tell him “No-Hio” sent you.

There are dozens of others, and I mean them no slight. There are a number of talented and lovely ladies, many of them working mothers, blogging about everything from daily life to politics to wild “facts” you can learn on a school bus. There are new friends I’ve just met yet have become a huge fan, college students and retired military men, military wives, and one of my strongest advocates, a Lieutenant Colonel and defender of our country, in the fields at this very moment in Afghanistan. (www.brainrants.wordpress.com – Beware! ‘Rants’ language can get … colourful!) I encourage you to go see the folks you don’t know, and enjoy the ride. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Tribute To Special Friends

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    Thanks as I appreciate the good words about my little corner of the world. Meanwhile, I know you will be successful … and then I will be saying “Remember me?”

  2. Don’t worry, my friend. Even if I WAS the kind to forget true friends, I spent enough time with Star Trek actors (one in particular) to NEVER forget where I came from! 😉

  3. whiteladyinthehood says:

    You are off to a good start! I think it was really sweet that you gave a thank-you to your special friends, it shows you have a lot of character.

    • When I saw the number of people signing up for my blog in the first couple days, I was truly surprised! I realised I had received a great leg up, and it just felt “right” to give proper acknowledgement. Especially the great help Mark has been, both online and off, while dealing with all the problems in his life. I’ve been truly lucky! 🙂

  4. nonnie9999 says:

    have you ever noticed that people who have a lot of special friends have them because they’re pretty special, too? just sayin. 😉

  5. All good recommendations. Glad your blog is getting off to a good start.

  6. Thanks for the kind words NoHio! 🙂

  7. El Guapo says:

    For the two I know, I agree, they are great (blogs and bloggers). For the other, off to check him out…

    • If I recall correctly (always a challenge), you’re from the “Frank circle”. You’ll love the “Mark circle”, just as many crazy people (technically more, if you include me), and a dynamite host. I think you’ll enjoy it!

  8. Elyse says:

    Oh good, John, thanks. More blogs to follow … 😉

  9. BrainRants says:

    I resemble some of those remarks up there, bud. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

