“That Time Again”, or, “Will Three Lions Roar?”

You may think you’ve stumbled by mistake, onto this website page.
“Is this not the home of that crazy guy who thinks Sci-Fi’s all the rage?”
“Where is all the military trivia and anniversaries galore?”
Well, bear with me now, kind reader, for what I have in store.

Though I’m no great fan of any sport, I felt a clarion call
To publicise a video poem for the English men of football.
An epic poem about the rocky road suffered by that very few,
Whose winning since the ’66 Cup have always fallen through.

The BBC filmed many folk from all around the land,
To wonder if their team would fail again, or finally take a stand.
The video link I provide below will show you many a soul,
Who dare to hope against the odds that England will make the goal.

So enjoy the treat that we’ve been given, and hope that maybe once more,
England can hold her head up high, as their famous Three Lions roar.
And I promise to be back very soon and commenting on blogs as well
As I’ve finally got Email working again, after blowing it straight to …. pieces.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-27762684

(By the by, two things. First, the Three Lions refers to England’s symbol worn on their team jerseys, of 3 recumbent lions, one above the other. Second, there is one old gent who appears wearing only … well, what the Aussies refer to as a “budgie smuggler” and nothing else. Think Santa in a Speedo. You’ve been warned! :D )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “That Time Again”, or, “Will Three Lions Roar?”

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    You have posted about sports, which confirms that you have truly lost your mind.

    • Well, you can put it down to a combination of a case of raging Anglophilia, a rather stiff dosage of Lortab, and the fact Tamy’s been sick and I’m running both the inside of the house and the outside, AND taking care of her work at the church! Besides, think of it this way – a sports team that hasn’t won in decades, that always lets its’ fans down, yet the fans remain ever faithful? Kinda sounds like a certain baseball team famous for its’ ivy covered outfield wall, no? ;)

    • Thanks! She’s doing better today (Sunday), so we’re both hopeful – yeah, famous last words! :)

  2. Archon's Den says:

    I don’t think Tennyson’s looking over his shoulder, but that was still a cute poem. I took your word for it, and skipped the “budgie smuggler”, ’cause I’m all out of eyewash and mind bleach.
    Welcome back, to you (and your migraines). If I’m going to win this year’s most prolific commenter prize, I thought I’d better get started. :D ;)

    • I don’t think I’m gonna be in the running for most comments ANYWHERE … well, except maybe for here. (Hey, I’m a Chicagoan – I can win my own election! ;) ) The migraines are like the old dude – a very unwelcome surprise in the middle of something creative. C’est la vie.
      And thanks for the welcome back. Who knows, maybe I’ll actually be able to return your visit sometime …. in a day or two – or ten – or 300. 8O

  3. fasab says:

    The three lions haven’t a hope, but I’ll be watching a lot of the football anyway.

Leave a Reply

