It seems the world is steering towards putting up some kind of end-of-year post. While I will be lazy, and wait for WordPress to mail me all those stats numbers, I figured I’d drop a few stats from life in general.

It was a year of ups and downs, with a number of “down” periods. A number were triggered by anniversaries ending in “1”. (“1″ means more to my mathematically oriented brain than “0” does, as it marks the start of a second tens grouping.) We’ve been down here in Ohio 11 years. I turned 51. We had our 21st wedding anniversary. While the wedding anniversary was a happy point, it also marked, just like the other two, that I was starting a new decade here in Ohio. While the state is okay, and while there are some TRULY wonderful people down here (my favourite, FRANKly, being a guy with a great ANGLE on life), Ohio ain’t where I want to be for the rest of my life. So that caused some serious depression bouts. I also lost some good neighbours on one side, but also got ride of the .. um … “donkey voids” across the drive. They caused me several major frustrations, which ratcheted up the frustration level, but now they’re gone for good, and the owner will move in once the place is cleaned out. Not sure how they’re gonna get a dumpster the size of the Titanic up the drive, but we’ll see. I lost my dog Sam back in July. While we’ve added a couple cats, including our “old man” Stryper, I am a dog person, period. That loss still hurts.

It is my goal, though, to write something shortly after the 1st, in my series of “Why Can’t I Have Normal Pets”. Sam deserves nothing less. Other than those, and my trivial (if far too late) “firing” from my church exterior maintenance position, that’s about all. I’m really hoping that 2014 goes a heck of a lot smoother. I’m looking forward to the new “Come For Company“, the multi-holiday enhancement of the older “Company For Christmas”. I’ll be on there New Years Day, when the wife has to work. (I will try to stop by tomorrow, as well, but it’s our 25th engagement anniversary, and the wife is off tomorrow. Yes – romance isn’t dead, it just limps and wheezes and has chronic headaches. :D ) And I’m looking forward to sharing more of my silly stories here.

So there it is. Once again, thanks to all of you, those who comment and those who just support, for taking time from your important lives to share my twaddle. I hope a very Happy New Years Eve and Day for everyone, and may 2014 bring ALL of us many more happy days!

This entry was posted in 2013 Wrap-up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    Cheers to your 2014 being brighter than 2013 … although I’ll be nice by not mentioning that 2013 was without a visit to come about in 2012 … thus hoping for a return trip in 2014.

    Cheers to your love for animals!

    Meanwhile, you can’t let not being in Chicago get you down … stay strong!

    • Man, 2013 is kicking me right to the end – WordPress ate my title! (I don’t want to change it, and have people wandering around confused, They do enough of that AFTER reading my stuff! :D )
      Oof – you’re “being nice” comment made my head hurt! Now I’m not sure WHAT year this is! :D
      But hey, thanks so much for all the support you’ve given me. I really appreciate it. And with luck, we can make that 2012 date the first of many!

      • aFrankAngle says:

        FYI: The email notification had the title as “360” … when I came, I couldn’t see the title, so I clicked “360” in the Recent Posts list.

      • 360?!? That wasn’t in the post at all! Yeesh! Thank goodness for faithful readers. I hope that was WordPress’s last broadside at me, at least for this year. (I’m seeing double quotation marks in my notification Emails. Ain’t technology wonderful? 8O )

  2. tom says:

    Happy New Year and may it all be good. Who would have ever guessed that you liked odd numbers?

    • Actually, I do prefer the even ones more, considering I have no less than four “2” in my birthdate. But odd numbers need love too! :D
      And right back at ya with the New Year wishes, my friend!

  3. 1jaded1 says:

    Hi there. I hope 2014 is way better. 2013 seemed like an extra challenging year. I’m a Detroit transplant living in Chicago. While I love the area and have met amazing people, there are days where I really miss Detroit and want to go back. Does that make me sick in the head?

    Anyway, I look forward to reading more. Happy New Year, John….J.

    • Oh, I know some of my love of Chicago is seen through rose-coloured glasses. And I know everybody loves their hometown – well, most everybody. Where are you at in Chi-town, if you don’t mind my asking? While I spent many years ranging from the Congress Expressway up through River North, I grew up out in the ‘burbs, right next to O’Hare. You couldn’t hear yourself think when the beasts were flying overhead – and DANG, I miss ‘em! I think I have a little bit of jet fuel mixed into my blood. It would explain a LOT…. ;)
      And a very Happy New Year to you. May 2014 see both our beloved cities quit losing so many residents – though the losses from Chicago are a lot more permanent! 8O

  4. I hope 2014 is full for you of the kinds of mirth you bring with your comments and, dare I say it, insight! (Scoff if you like, but it’s TRUE!)

    • :D I go to humour and self-deprecation as an old defence mechanism, left over from grade school. I’m glad you can find both insight and mirth in my comments – I do try, but I don’t always succeed as well as I’d like. And I’d NEVER think to argue with you! ;)
      And a Happy New Year to you and the gang!

  5. whiteladyinthehood says:

    I didn’t see a title to this post either, I just clicked the “read 423 more words” and it brought me right on over! :)
    I hope you have a great New Year! There is nothing like the place you call home (even if it’s a crazy place)….

    • Yeah, this place can be a crazy house, all right! (Of course, with one of the worst inmates being the warden…) And I just knew that WordPress had to get one, last shot at me for 2013!
      Happy New Year!

      • whiteladyinthehood says:

        No, No, I was talking about where “I” lived was the CRAZY place! (I live in the middle of insanity)

      • Yeah, but at least YOUR neighbors know how to load a gun – or so you’ve suggested. People around here hunt with bows, ’cause they haven’t mastered bullets! :D

  6. benzeknees says:

    Happy anniversary of your engagement & happy, happy New Year to you & your wife John! It sounds like you had the same kind of year I had. Let’s hope 2014 is a little kinder to us.

    • I’m hoping for a 2014 that’s a lot less …. “interesting” than 2013 was. I could do with some good old fashioned boredom!
      A very Happy New Year to you and yours, and hopes for your 2014 to be a whole lot less “interesting”, too! :D

  7. fasab says:

    The title of your post has now gone up from 360 to 380, I don’t know whether that’s progress or not. And the like button has died on everything. Good old WordPress seems to be ending the year with a whimper instead of a bang. Anyway, glitches permitting, looking forward to a lot more from you in 2014. :)

  8. gpcox says:

    Looking forward to a brilliant year of posts from you!

Leave a Reply

