Shadows and Stardust.

Those of you who know me a little, know I’m a big sci-fi fan. Those who know me a bit more, know that I’ve been a Doctor Who fan for over 35 years. Most probably don’t know that I’m a HUGE fan of Kylie Minogue. So the Doctor Who Episode, “Voyage Of  The Damned”, starring Kylie with the Doctor saving Earth from a crashing spaceship version of the Titanic, is pretty darn near to perfect in my opinion.

And you know my weird little muse.  She hits at the strangest times – though this time, it was perfect. So, as the Doctor realises that Kylie’s character, Astrid, has died, he attempts to save her using something like a “Star Trek” transporter. But she is too far gone, and as he realises this, he is forced to let her remaining energy drift into space. And we see him lost, even though he is technically the hero. So here, for your diversion, is “Shadows and Stardust”.

Shadows and stardust.
A ghost, an echo.
Nothing more. I have failed.

I have stood on a thousand planets.
I have seen 300,000 dawns.
I have faced challenges uncountable.
I have saved billions of lives.

No challenge too great,
No barrier insurmountable,
No army invincible,
Nothing – not even time – can stop me.

And yet -
She only wanted
To see different stars.
To stand on another world.
To travel with me, and see
All the universe has to offer.

And now -
I have saved a world,
And its’ teeming billions.
I have saved a legend,
And its’ small entourage.
I should be a hero.

But I failed her, and now,
I stand here, and can only watch
As she becomes a ghost, an echo,
Shadows and stardust.

 

This entry was posted in Poetry, Science Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Shadows and Stardust.

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    After high of the next to the last stanza, the last one was a popping of a balloon. Nonetheless, well done!

    • That’s a large part of what I like about this episode. The Doctor almost always comes out on top – and though he saves the population of the Earth from destruction, he loses a lady he’s grown quite fond of. So much so that he invites her to join him on the TARDIS – a rare honour indeed. So in the big picture, he wins, but once again, he is the lone hero – a recurring theme of the show.
      Thanks for popping in so quickly after I posted!

  2. fasab says:

    Well that spoiled watching that episode then :)
    (Just kidding!)

    • Dude, if you haven’t caught this 2007 Christmas Special yet, you’re more behind in your watching than I am! :D (Well, I do gotta give you the fact I should have put “Spoiler Alert” at the top. Though I WAS assuming there was some statute of limitations on spoiler alerts. No?)

  3. Alice Keys says:

    My whole family are Doctor Who fans. You captured this point in this episode perfectly.

    • Ah! A houseful of Whovians! A gaggle of Gallifreyans! A trove of Time Lords! (KNOCK IT OFF!!)
      Oh. (Ahem.) Sorry, got carried away there. ;)
      Glad you liked it!

      • Alice Keys says:

        The first conversation I had with my husband-to-be the night we first met was about Dr. Who. Now, twenty-five years later, we watch episodes with our teenaged kids and laugh around the dinner table.

        Sick, isn’t it? :-)

      • I’ll see your first conversation, and raise you meeting my wife-to-be at a sci-fi con. Or our honeymoon, taken a week BEFORE we were married, to the Minnesota Renn Faire. Or Nichelle Nichols grabbing my wife-to-be and wrapping an arm around her for a souvenir photo shot, while shoving me with her other hand into the waiting grip of Grace Lee Whitney.
        Sweetie, if you’re sick, I’m 10 years past terminal! :D

  4. unfetteredbs says:

    I’ve never watched dr who but I enjoyed your magnificent writing here. Perhaps I should check the show out.

    • This is actually a good episode to start with, as it mostly stands on its’ own. About the only things you need to know are a vague history of the Titanic, and the fact that the Doctor is always supposed to be the hero and save the day – which he does for the population of Earth and the passengers aboard the starship, but which he can’t do for Kylie’s character, who he grows obviously VERY fond of throughout the episode. (I’m a sucker for the hero who wins the “big game”, but feels it a Pyrrhic victory because he loses something or someone very close to him. I still cringe every time I see the Enterprise blow up in the movie “ST3: The Search For Spock” – although I’ve seen that movie several dozen times over! – and sympathise with Kirk when he says “My God, Bones, what have I done?” as he watches her blaze through the atmosphere in her death ride.)
      And thanks for the wonderful compliment!

  5. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Excellent poem! (your romantic side is showing through….)

  6. benzeknees says:

    Also a huge Dr. Who fan! What do you think of what happened to Dr. Who over the holidays this year? (no spoilers in case you haven’t seen the episode yet)

    • At risk of getting my Dr. Who fanclub card pulled, I haven’t watched the show since Matt Smith came along. I’ve tried watching a couple of episodes, but there’s something about him that just doesn’t work for me. I suppose I’ll try again, BBC America is BOUND to do a marathon … again … and again … and again …. So sorry, I can’t really give you any opinion on the “last hurrah” of Matt Smith’s Doctor.

      • benzeknees says:

        If you didn’t like Matt Smith (horrors!) maybe you’ll like what has happened on Christmas Day!

      • I saw somewhere he regenerated. I know the new actor, I’ve seen him in a few movies. It’ll be interesting to see him as the Doctor – everything I’ve seen him in, he’s got a REALLY thick Scottish accent. Worse than David Tennant’s, if you’ve ever seen him in an interview!
        (Not sure if you’ve ever seen Top Gear UK on BBC America, but ever since David Tennant came along, I’ve had this undying desire to see a crossover episode, where the Doctor gets slipped into the role of Richard Hammond, and Richard gets teleported into the TARDIS. I’d LOVE to see Tennant try to take on Jeremy Clarkson! :D )

  7. I love Dr. Who, although nowhere near as long as you have been a fan! I can understand why you’d feel inspired to write poetry! Very creative stuff. Your muse was a big help!

    • Yeah, I was lucky by having one of Lionheart’s (BBC’s overseas sales and licensing outfit) biggest client for a PBS station, so we got the stuff within weeks of debut on BBC, all the way back to Doctor #2 (Patrick Troughton). David Tennant’s one of my favourite Doctors, so I had double inspiration with (ssiiggh) Kylie in the episode. ;)
      Thanks for the compliment, and for stopping by! Happy New Year!

  8. gpcox says:

    I’ve been into sci-fi since I was a kid [and I didn't always take it lightly] the imagination of sci-fi authors shows more premonition than fantasy.

    • I’ve been hooked for a LONG time. I remember counting down to the debut of the original Battlestar Galactica, and I was already a fan back then. It’s been interesting to see what was pure imagination when I was 10 or 15 becoming fact now that I’m 50. But I’m STILL waiting for my flying car, dang it! :D
      Thank you much. Happy New Year!

  9. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you very much for following the blog, I really look forward to reading your posts and happy new year 2014. Gede Prama :-)

    • I’m not sure why, but I found no record of visiting your blog in my online data. Rest assured, I have corrected that oversight. Thank you, may you also have a Happy New Year, and welcome!

  10. Archon's Den says:

    Great poem about a great episode. I have it on DVD. :)

Leave a Reply

