A Special Wish.

I wanted to put this particular post under it’s own title. While open to all, it is specifically directed at a small, but particularly beloved, group of my readers.

Christmas Eve should be a time for family. Too often, however, many have found themselves without family on this evening. The reason? They are serving their country in military service, and whether in time of war or peace, find themselves in some far off land, away from their loved ones. Nothing I can say, no words I can conjure, can make up for this. No holiday wish I might offer can bring them any closer to home, or reduce the sense of isolation, and even of being forgotten.

But to all those who have taken up this difficult calling, I want to say “thank you”. I have no gift to give, no glorious present all wrapped up in pretty paper, to give you back all the Christmases you’ve spent away from home. The best I can do is offer the gratitude of one soul, who will never forget what you’ve done, and will never allow others to forget as long as I have breath to speak and fingers to type.

So … thank you. And to every soldier, from every nation, may you remain free from harm, and return home to your loved ones, soon and safe. And to those who celebrate it, a hope for a very Merry Christmas.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Military and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Special Wish.

  1. aFrankAngle says:

    A great reminder for all … well done, sir! … Dismissed.

  2. Elyse says:

    A lovely wish, John. Well done!

  3. Huffygirl says:

    Well said John. When we went to the airport to pick up our kids, there was an American legion group there waiting to welcome veterans and service persons getting off the planes. they formed a line at the arrival gate, with several of them holding large American flags, and clapped and hugged any military persons getting off the plane. Very moving and I appreciated their dedication to hang out at an airport right before Christmas to welcome this special group.

    • Oh, I’d love to do that! Problem is, Columbus’s airport is over 2 hours away, and the closest airport can barely handle single-engine Cessnas! Though we do get overflown by Blackhawks and the occasional Chinook – I think I might have to get on my garage roof and write a big “Hi!” up there for ‘em. (The house roof is slate, sharply pitched, and WAY the heck too high for my liking!)
      Thanks for stopping by, and Merry Christmas!

  4. benzeknees says:

    Hear, hear John! You always have a way of saying what is in our hearts best!

  5. I really like this post. It reminds me of so many things, of which I will never forget, either. My brother was in Desert Storm, my father in the Air Force in Korea, and after reading many of these blogs, I just feel lucky to have the life I have. Great post.

    Signed, the “sort of” trouble-maker from Frank’s blog :)

    • If you ever want to share any military stories you have, I would be VERY appreciative. My dad served in both WW2 (for about 3 months) and Korea, and though not overly pro-miitary, he taught me gratitude to those who defend our freedoms. So I try to show my love for the vets whenever I can – American, British, Commonwealth, heck, Ive even given, and gotten, love from Romanians!
      And trust me, I remembered you. People who can give and take with me impress me. You impressed me. A lot! :D
      Thanks much, welcome aboard, and have a Happy New Year!

      • Same to you Mr. Former Chicago now Ohioan (is that even a word?). I love my family dearly. But I’m afraid most stories should be told over a wee dram of Scotch. :)

      • How self-absorbed of me!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR to you as well.

      • I think it’s interesting our thoughts around Christmas were quite similar. Frank alluded to such, but didn’t expound on it. He is a great guy. I wish I had days to fully absorb all these wonderful blogs, don’t you? :)

      • Oh, you’d be surprised at some of the stories I’ve heard. One particular story revolves around using a flare pistol as a weapon against a person. (UGH! 8O ) But as I said, share as you feel you want to.
        Thanks for the return wish, as well!
        And yes, Frank is a great guy. His was one of the first blogs I ever commented on, and I did get the chance to meet him last year, a delightful and memorable occasion. Personally, I just wish I had the time to keep up with the blogs I already read AND write out some of my misadventures – parts of my readership have been demanding stories for years! (And I’m unemployed, yet don’t have enough time – how messed up is that? :D )
        Ah well, so it goes. See ya ’round!

Leave a Reply

