Another Sad Friday.

Yes, my friends, I have to bring you another sorrowful Friday. Today, I learned of the death of a truly incredible American. A child of the turbulent 70s, coming into his own during the last few years of the Vietnam War, he would go on to become not only a national icon, but a true ambassador for America all around the world. He was truly a “golden boy”, loved wherever he went. During the Cold War, he comforted millions while the world teetered on the edge of nuclear devastation, his picture often seen in homemade bomb shelters across our nation. With the fall of Communism, he seemed to be everywhere, even bringing comfort and joy to our fighting personnel in such far-flung locations as the Balkans, Kuwait, Iraq, and Afghanistan. Those of us who grew up with him, became convinced that he would be around forever. He was even known to be a trend-setter, helping to found the current craze of deep-fried sweets, ice cream, and others. No matter what scandals people tried to find in him, he would never rise to anger, remaining his sweet self right down to his core.

So I ask you, wherever you are right now, to bow your heads, close your eyes, and join me in a silent prayer. For on this day, we lose someone we all knew, a friend to all, a foe to none, and a true American icon.

Godspeed, and thank you, Twinkie the Kid.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Another Sad Friday.

  1. julesagray says:

    I’m gonna miss those post-Twinkie binge tum tum aches.

  2. Elyse says:

    There were only two sweets I hated as a kid — and Twinkies was one of them. I always thought they were made of plastic. And I was right.

    There was a teacher in Maine who did an experiment with his class. He opened a pack of Twinkies, ate one, and put the other on the window sill. The experiment was to see how long it took to grow mold. Twenty-five years later, he retired. The Twinkie still sat on the window, was still completely preserved. He passed it on to his replacement.

    Ewwww, Twinkies.

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    Whether one likes Twinkies or not, it’s an icon! Hopefully, someone will step forward and by the product, thus it will live on!

    Off topic – For your readers here, please visit Doggy (link below), make a comment, and tell them you saw my message. …. Not a joke, but a fund-raising effort for a good cause. http://doggysstyle.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/your-2-cents-what-about-50/

  4. Ha! I was beginning to feel gloomy and forlorn when I realized where this was going! Granted, I’m saddened by the news, but . . . in this light, better Twinkies than otherwise. :)

    Like Elyse, I was never a fan of Twinkies. I did love Zingers, though. I actually bought some a couple of months back, preparing for the scrumptious experience I’d so often longed for in youth. I was shocked when it wasn’t one-quarter as good as I remembered, but not so shocked when Li’l D spit out his own bite a second later.

    And yet . . . I still want a Zinger. They will always be source of happy memories, much like the delectable single-eater pies that were their cousins.

    • Oh man, Zingers! I hadn’t thought of those in years! Didn’t they have some tie-in with the “Peanuts” gang? The phrase “zinger zapper” popped into my head – gonna have to go look that up.
      I used to love Twinkies, but my taste for them, like a lot of other things, got “thrown off” when I had my wisdom teeth removed. Don’t know what the oral surgeon did, but after that, several things never tasted right again. Or maybe somebody was changing our favourites behind the scene, a la “new” Coke? Conspiracy, anyone? ;)

  5. fasab says:

    Hmm, not what I expected when I started to read this post….Get your singing voice on, maybe Frank can do the music…

    Twinkie Twinkie little star
    Now you’ve gone, I hope not far
    You and your friend Wonder Bread
    I can’t accept that you’re both dead

    So don’t lose hope, you’re just in limbo
    You might be bought by Grupo Bimbo
    But if you’ve really gone for good
    I might start eating healthy food

    The end – or is it??? :)

    • You are warped, twisted, and sick. That’s why I like you so much! :D
      The wife and I have said the same thing – everybody’s gonna angst over losing their precious Twinkies (there’s an out-of-date box being auctioned on eBay, currently at $15 8O ), then some company will come along, scoop up all of Hostess’s assets, can all the union folk who’ve been striking (along with the willing workers who will ALSO lose out), and start making them in China out of stuff only found in a Chem 304 final exam. (Yeah – like they were 100% natural before! ;) )
      By the way – hate Wonder bread, sticks to the roof of my mouth. Now Holsum – wow, don’t me started, that could be a whole post!

  6. whiteladyinthehood says:

    (I’ve seen ZombieLand – Woody in search for the Twinkie! haha) I grew up with Hostess…I hope someone saves them…I always liked the Hostess cupcakes, but Twinkies weren’t that bad in my opinion.

    • Oh, how I loved the cupcakes! Taking bites out of the side to save that curly-cue of frosting for last! Aaaauuugghhhh…. (drooling like Homer Simpson)
      Oh .. um .. sorry, where were we? :D

  7. tom says:

    “I’ll be back”, Twinkee

  8. I think any leftover Twinkies probably will last forever, Well, until someone eats them.

    Apparently up here another company has the rights to Hostess cakes, so Canadian Twinkies live on! I never really liked them myself, but I did like the Hostess Cupcake with its twirly white icing stripe.

  9. Teeny Bikini says:

    I am gonna miss Twinkie the Kid. I was kinda shocked when I heard about its demise. I haven’t had one in ages, but true love never dies….

Leave a Reply

